Jefferson County Alabama Sales Tax Rate 2020 Alabama Sales Tax Rates: Jefferson County


Jefferson County, Alabama Sales Tax Rate 2020 Up to 10%

The Jefferson County Sales Tax is 1%

A county-wide sales tax rate of 1% is applicable to localities in Jefferson County, in addition to the 4% Alabama sales tax.

Some cities and local governments in Jefferson County collect additional local sales taxes, which can be as high as 5%.

Here's how Jefferson County's maximum sales tax rate of 10% compares to other counties around the United States:

  •   Higher maximum sales tax than 96% of Alabama counties
  •   Higher maximum sales tax than 97% of counties nationwide
Last updated December 2020

Tax Rates By City in Jefferson County, Alabama

The total sales tax rate in any given location can be broken down into state, county, city, and special district rates. Alabama has a 4% sales tax and Jefferson County collects an additional 1%, so the minimum sales tax rate in Jefferson County is 5% (not including any city or special district taxes). This table shows the total sales tax rates for all cities and towns in Jefferson County, including all local taxes.

City Sales Tax Rate Tax Jurisdiction
Birmingham 10% Birmingham (Jefferson Co)
Birmingham 9.5% Hoover (Jefferson Co)
Birmingham 10% Vestavia Hills (Jefferson Co)
Birmingham 5% Shelby County
Birmingham 10% Center Point
Bessemer 10% Bessemer
Trussville 10% Trussville (Jefferson Co)
Birmingham 9% Mountain Brook
Birmingham 10% Homewood
Bessemer 10% Hueytown
Pinson 6% Jefferson County
Birmingham 6% Jefferson County
Gardendale 10% Gardendale
Leeds 10% Leeds (Jefferson Co)
Birmingham 10% Irondale
Warrior 7% Blount County
Birmingham 10% Tarrant
Pleasant Grove 10% Pleasant Grove
Fairfield 10% Fairfield
Birmingham 10% Midfield
Dora 9% Dora
Adamsville 10% Adamsville
Fultondale 10% Fultondale
Mount Olive 6% Jefferson County
Morris 10% Morris
Mulga 6% Jefferson County
Adger 6% Jefferson County
Kimberly 10% Kimberly
Graysville 10% Graysville
Dolomite 10% Birmingham (Jefferson Co)
Clay 10% Clay
Alton 10% Irondale
Sayre 8% Adamsville Pj
Docena 8% Adamsville Pj
Watson 8% Brookside Un
Shannon 7.75% Hoover Pj (Jefferson Co)
Brookside 10% Gardendale
New Castle 10% Fultondale
Palmerdale 10% Pinson

Alabama Sales Tax Rates by Zip Code:

Need an updated list of Alabama sales tax rates for your business? Download our Alabama sales tax database!

Jefferson County, Alabama has a maximum sales tax rate of 10% and an approximate population of 572,811.

Sales tax rates in Jefferson County are determined by 30 different tax jurisdictions, Clay, Dora, Jefferson County, Irondale, Leeds (Jefferson Co), Adamsville Pj, Morris, Brookside Un, Hoover Pj (Jefferson Co), Blount County, Bessemer, Hueytown, Birmingham (Jefferson Co), Kimberly, Gardendale, Fairfield, Adamsville, Tarrant, Homewood, Midfield, Center Point, Shelby County, Mountain Brook, Hoover (Jefferson Co), Vestavia Hills (Jefferson Co), Fultondale, Graysville, Pinson, Trussville (Jefferson Co) and Pleasant Grove.

  Back to Alabama Sales Tax Handbook Sales tax rates for Jefferson County are current as of December 2020
** This Document Provided By SalesTaxHandbook **