Adams County Illinois Sales Tax Rate 2020 Illinois Sales Tax Rates: Adams County


Adams County, Illinois Sales Tax Rate 2020 Up to 8%

The Adams County Sales Tax is 0.25%

A county-wide sales tax rate of 0.25% is applicable to localities in Adams County, in addition to the 6.25% Illinois sales tax.

Some cities and local governments in Adams County collect additional local sales taxes, which can be as high as 1.5%.

Here's how Adams County's maximum sales tax rate of 8% compares to other counties around the United States:

  •   Higher maximum sales tax than 52% of Illinois counties
  •   Higher maximum sales tax than 69% of counties nationwide
Last updated July 2020

Tax Rates By City in Adams County, Illinois

The total sales tax rate in any given location can be broken down into state, county, city, and special district rates. Illinois has a 6.25% sales tax and Adams County collects an additional 0.25%, so the minimum sales tax rate in Adams County is 6.5% (not including any city or special district taxes). This table shows the total sales tax rates for all cities and towns in Adams County, including all local taxes.

City Sales Tax Rate Tax Jurisdiction
Quincy 8% Quincy
Quincy 6.5% Adams County
Liberty 6.5% Adams County
Camp Point 6.5% Adams County
Mendon 6.5% Adams County
Payson 6.5% Payson
Fowler 6.5% Adams County
Clayton 6.5% Adams County
Ursa 6.5% Adams County
Golden 6.5% Golden
Loraine 6.5% Adams County
Plainville 6.5% Adams County
Lima 6.5% Lima
Paloma 6.5% Adams County
Coatsburg 6.5% Adams County
La Prairie 6.5% Adams County

Illinois Sales Tax Rates by Zip Code:

Need an updated list of Illinois sales tax rates for your business? Download our Illinois sales tax database!

Adams County, Illinois has a maximum sales tax rate of 8% and an approximate population of 54,896.

Sales tax rates in Adams County are determined by five different tax jurisdictions, Lima, Adams County, Golden, Payson and Quincy.

  Back to Illinois Sales Tax Handbook Sales tax rates for Adams County are current as of July 2020
** This Document Provided By SalesTaxHandbook **