Macon County Illinois Sales Tax Rate 2020 Illinois Sales Tax Rates: Macon County


Macon County, Illinois Sales Tax Rate 2020 Up to 9.25%

The Macon County Sales Tax is 1.5%

A county-wide sales tax rate of 1.5% is applicable to localities in Macon County, in addition to the 6.25% Illinois sales tax.

Some cities and local governments in Macon County collect additional local sales taxes, which can be as high as 1.5%.

Here's how Macon County's maximum sales tax rate of 9.25% compares to other counties around the United States:

  •   Higher maximum sales tax than 93% of Illinois counties
  •   Higher maximum sales tax than 88% of counties nationwide
Last updated July 2020

Tax Rates By City in Macon County, Illinois

The total sales tax rate in any given location can be broken down into state, county, city, and special district rates. Illinois has a 6.25% sales tax and Macon County collects an additional 1.5%, so the minimum sales tax rate in Macon County is 7.75% (not including any city or special district taxes). This table shows the total sales tax rates for all cities and towns in Macon County, including all local taxes.

City Sales Tax Rate Tax Jurisdiction
Decatur 9.25% Decatur
Mt Zion 7.75% Mount Zion
Forsyth 8.75% Forsyth
Argenta 7.75% Macon County
Maroa 8.75% Maroa Bd
Macon 7.75% Macon County
Blue Mound 7.75% Blue Mound
Oreana 7.75% Macon County
Warrensburg 7.75% Warrensburg
Niantic 7.75% Niantic
Boody 7.75% Macon County
Elwin 7.75% Macon County
Harristown 7.75% Harristown

Illinois Sales Tax Rates by Zip Code:

Need an updated list of Illinois sales tax rates for your business? Download our Illinois sales tax database!

Macon County, Illinois has a maximum sales tax rate of 9.25% and an approximate population of 88,056.

Sales tax rates in Macon County are determined by nine different tax jurisdictions, Macon County, Maroa Bd, Decatur, Forsyth, Mount Zion, Niantic, Blue Mound, Harristown and Warrensburg.

  Back to Illinois Sales Tax Handbook Sales tax rates for Macon County are current as of July 2020
** This Document Provided By SalesTaxHandbook **