St Clair County Illinois Sales Tax Rate 2020 Illinois Sales Tax Rates: St Clair County


St Clair County, Illinois Sales Tax Rate 2020 Up to 8.85%

St Clair County Has No County-Level Sales Tax

While many counties do levy a countywide sales tax, St Clair County does not. The Illinois sales tax of 6.25% applies countywide. Some cities and local governments in St Clair County collect additional local sales taxes, which can be as high as 2.6%.

Here's how St Clair County's maximum sales tax rate of 8.85% compares to other counties around the United States:

  •   Higher maximum sales tax than 84% of Illinois counties
  •   Higher maximum sales tax than 83% of counties nationwide
Last updated July 2020

Tax Rates By City in St Clair County, Illinois

The total sales tax rate in any given location can be broken down into state, county, city, and special district rates. Illinois has a 6.25% sales tax and St Clair County collects an additional N/A, so the minimum sales tax rate in St Clair County is 6.25% (not including any city or special district taxes). This table shows the total sales tax rates for all cities and towns in St Clair County, including all local taxes.

City Sales Tax Rate Tax Jurisdiction
Belleville 8.1% Belleville/inside Metro East Park & Rec Only
Belleville 7.35% St. Clair County
O Fallon 7.85% O'fallon
East Saint Louis 8.85% East St. Louis
Fairview Heights 8.35% Fairview Heights
East Saint Louis 8.1% Cahokia
Mascoutah 7.6% Mascoutah
Millstadt 6.6% Millstadt
Caseyville 7.35% Caseyville
East Saint Louis 7.35% Centreville
Freeburg 6.6% Freeburg
Lebanon 7.85% Lebanon
Scott Air Force Base 7.35% St. Clair County
Dupo 7.35% Dupo
Smithton 7.35% Smithton
New Athens 7.35% St. Clair County
Marissa 6.6% Marissa
East Carondelet 7.35% St. Clair County
Lenzburg 7.35% St. Clair County
Saint Libory 6.6% St. Libory
Lovejoy 7.35% Brooklyn
Summerfield 7.35% Summerfield
National Stock Yards 8.85% East St. Louis

Illinois Sales Tax Rates by Zip Code:

Need an updated list of Illinois sales tax rates for your business? Download our Illinois sales tax database!

St Clair County, Illinois has a maximum sales tax rate of 8.85% and an approximate population of 210,482.

Sales tax rates in St Clair County are determined by eighteen different tax jurisdictions, Dupo, Lebanon, Brooklyn, Marissa, Freeburg, St. Clair County, O'fallon, Smithton, Mascoutah, Millstadt, Belleville/inside Metro East Park & Rec Only, Caseyville, Summerfield, St. Libory, Cahokia, Centreville, East St. Louis and Fairview Heights.

  Back to Illinois Sales Tax Handbook Sales tax rates for St Clair County are current as of July 2020
** This Document Provided By SalesTaxHandbook **