Buchanan County Iowa Sales Tax Rate 2020 Iowa Sales Tax Rates: Buchanan County


Buchanan County, Iowa Sales Tax Rate 2020 Up to 7%

The Buchanan County Sales Tax is 1%

A county-wide sales tax rate of 1% is applicable to localities in Buchanan County, in addition to the 6% Iowa sales tax.

Some cities and local governments in Buchanan County collect additional local sales taxes, which can be as high as 8.8817841970013E-16%.

Here's how Buchanan County's maximum sales tax rate of 7% compares to other counties around the United States:

  •   Lower maximum sales tax than 100% of Iowa counties
  •   Lower maximum sales tax than 64% of counties nationwide
Last updated July 2020

Tax Rates By City in Buchanan County, Iowa

The total sales tax rate in any given location can be broken down into state, county, city, and special district rates. Iowa has a 6% sales tax and Buchanan County collects an additional 1%, so the minimum sales tax rate in Buchanan County is 7% (not including any city or special district taxes). This table shows the total sales tax rates for all cities and towns in Buchanan County, including all local taxes.

City Sales Tax Rate Tax Jurisdiction
Independence 7% Independence
Fairbank 7% Fairbank
Winthrop 7% Winthrop
Hazleton 7% Hazleton
Rowley 7% Buchanan County
Brandon 7% Buchanan County
Lamont 7% Lamont
Quasqueton 7% Quasqueton
Aurora 7% Buchanan County
Stanley 7% Fayette County

Iowa Sales Tax Rates by Zip Code:

Need an updated list of Iowa sales tax rates for your business? Download our Iowa sales tax database!

Buchanan County, Iowa has a maximum sales tax rate of 7% and an approximate population of 13,903.

Sales tax rates in Buchanan County are determined by eight different tax jurisdictions, Buchanan County, Lamont, Fayette County, Fairbank, Hazleton, Winthrop, Quasqueton and Independence.

  Back to Iowa Sales Tax Handbook Sales tax rates for Buchanan County are current as of July 2020
** This Document Provided By SalesTaxHandbook **
Source: http://www.salestaxhandbook.com/iowa/rates/buchanan-county