Cherokee County Iowa Sales Tax Rate 2020 Iowa Sales Tax Rates: Cherokee County


Cherokee County, Iowa Sales Tax Rate 2020 Up to 7%

The Cherokee County Sales Tax is 1%

A county-wide sales tax rate of 1% is applicable to localities in Cherokee County, in addition to the 6% Iowa sales tax.

Some cities and local governments in Cherokee County collect additional local sales taxes, which can be as high as 8.8817841970013E-16%.

Here's how Cherokee County's maximum sales tax rate of 7% compares to other counties around the United States:

  •   Lower maximum sales tax than 100% of Iowa counties
  •   Lower maximum sales tax than 64% of counties nationwide
Last updated July 2020

Tax Rates By City in Cherokee County, Iowa

The total sales tax rate in any given location can be broken down into state, county, city, and special district rates. Iowa has a 6% sales tax and Cherokee County collects an additional 1%, so the minimum sales tax rate in Cherokee County is 7% (not including any city or special district taxes). This table shows the total sales tax rates for all cities and towns in Cherokee County, including all local taxes.

City Sales Tax Rate Tax Jurisdiction
Cherokee 7% Cherokee
Marcus 7% Marcus
Aurelia 7% Aurelia
Cleghorn 7% Cherokee County
Quimby 7% Cherokee County
Washta 7% Washta
Meriden 7% Cherokee County
Larrabee 7% Larrabee

Iowa Sales Tax Rates by Zip Code:

Need an updated list of Iowa sales tax rates for your business? Download our Iowa sales tax database!

Cherokee County, Iowa has a maximum sales tax rate of 7% and an approximate population of 9,260.

Sales tax rates in Cherokee County are determined by six different tax jurisdictions, Marcus, Cherokee County, Washta, Aurelia, Cherokee and Larrabee.

  Back to Iowa Sales Tax Handbook Sales tax rates for Cherokee County are current as of July 2020
** This Document Provided By SalesTaxHandbook **