Des Moines County Iowa Sales Tax Rate 2020 Iowa Sales Tax Rates: Des Moines County


Des Moines County, Iowa Sales Tax Rate 2020 Up to 7.00%

The Des Moines County Sales Tax is 1.00%

A county-wide sales tax rate of 1.00% is applicable to localities in Des Moines County, in addition to the 6.00% Iowa sales tax.

None of the cities or local governments within Des Moines County collect additional local sales taxes.

Here's how Des Moines County's maximum sales tax rate of 7.00% compares to other counties around the United States:

  •   Lower maximum sales tax than 100% of Iowa counties
  •   Lower maximum sales tax than 64% of counties nationwide
Last updated February 2020

Tax Rates By City in Des Moines County, Iowa

The total sales tax rate in any given location can be broken down into state, county, city, and special district rates. Iowa has a 6.00% sales tax and Des Moines County collects an additional 1.00%, so the minimum sales tax rate in Des Moines County is 7% (not including any city or special district taxes). This table shows the total sales tax rates for all cities and towns in Des Moines County, including all local taxes.

City Sales Tax Rate Tax Jurisdiction
Burlington 7.00% Burlington
West Burlington 7.00% West Burlington
Mediapolis 7.00% Des Moines County
Danville 7.00% Des Moines County
Sperry 7.00% Des Moines County
Yarmouth 7.00% Des Moines County
Middletown 7.00% Des Moines County

Iowa Sales Tax Rates by Zip Code:

Need an updated list of Iowa sales tax rates for your business? Download our Iowa sales tax database!

Des Moines County, Iowa has a maximum sales tax rate of 7.00% and an approximate population of 32,154.

Sales tax rates in Des Moines County are determined by three different tax jurisdictions, Des Moines County, Burlington and West Burlington.

  Back to Iowa Sales Tax Handbook Sales tax rates for Des Moines County are current as of February 2020
** This Document Provided By SalesTaxHandbook **