Penobscot County Maine Sales Tax Rate 2020 Maine Sales Tax Rates: Penobscot County


Penobscot County, Maine Sales Tax Rate 2020 Up to 5.5%

Penobscot County Has No County-Level Sales Tax

While many counties do levy a countywide sales tax, Penobscot County does not. The Maine sales tax of 5.5% applies countywide. None of the cities or local governments within Penobscot County collect additional local sales taxes.

Here's how Penobscot County's maximum sales tax rate of 5.5% compares to other counties around the United States:

  •   Higher maximum sales tax than any other Maine counties
  •   Lower maximum sales tax than 88% of counties nationwide
Last updated October 2020

Tax Rates By City in Penobscot County, Maine

The total sales tax rate in any given location can be broken down into state, county, city, and special district rates. Maine has a 5.5% sales tax and Penobscot County collects an additional N/A, so the minimum sales tax rate in Penobscot County is 5.5% (not including any city or special district taxes). This table shows the total sales tax rates for all cities and towns in Penobscot County, including all local taxes.

City Sales Tax Rate Tax Jurisdiction
Bangor 5.5% Maine
Brewer 5.5% Maine
Hampden 5.5% Maine
Old Town 5.5% Maine
Lincoln 5.5% Maine
Orono 5.5% Maine
Orrington 5.5% Maine
Dexter 5.5% Maine
Milford 5.5% Maine
Eddington 5.5% Maine
Newport 5.5% Maine
Levant 5.5% Maine State
Carmel 5.5% Maine
Corinth 5.5% Maine
Corinna 5.5% Maine
West Enfield 5.5% Maine
East Millinocket 5.5% Maine
Greenbush 5.5% Maine
Bradley 5.5% Maine
Hudson 5.5% Maine
Medway 5.5% Maine
Howland 5.5% Maine
Kenduskeag 5.5% Maine
Plymouth 5.5% Maine
Etna 5.5% Maine
Dixmont 5.5% Maine
Patten 5.5% Maine
Stetson 5.5% Maine
Bradford 5.5% Maine
Charleston 5.5% Maine
Garland 5.5% Maine
Exeter 5.5% Maine
Lee 5.5% Maine
Springfield 5.5% Maine State
Mattawamkeag 5.5% Maine
Lagrange 5.5% Maine
Winn 5.5% Maine
Burlington 5.5% Maine
Stacyville 5.5% Maine
Stillwater 5.5% Maine
East Newport 5.5% Maine
Passadumkeag 5.5% Maine

Maine Sales Tax Rates by Zip Code:

Need an updated list of Maine sales tax rates for your business? Download our Maine sales tax database!

Penobscot County, Maine has a maximum sales tax rate of 5.5% and an approximate population of 108,096.

Sales tax rates in Penobscot County are determined by two different tax jurisdictions, Maine and Maine State.

  Back to Maine Sales Tax Handbook Sales tax rates for Penobscot County are current as of October 2020
** This Document Provided By SalesTaxHandbook **