Maryland: Medical Marijuana Handbook
Maryland Marijuana Tax Rate
|Sales Tax Medical||Excise Tax Medical||Max Medical Tax||Sales Tax Recreational||Excise Tax Recreational||Max Recreational Tax|
2022 Maryland Medical Marijuana Handbook
Maryland has 4 bordering states consisting of Delaware, Pennsylvania, Virginia, and West Virginia.
Medical marijuana is legal in Delaware , but there is no cannabis sales tax on it. There is no cannabis excise tax charged on medical marijuana in Delaware.
Medical marijuana is legal in Pennsylvania , but they choose not to tax medical marijuana. There is, however, a 5% cannabis excise tax on all sales of medical marijuana in Pennsylvania.
Medical marijuana is legal in Virginia and is subject to a cannabis sales tax of 5.30%. There is no cannabis excise tax charged on medical marijuana in Virginia.
Medical marijuana is legal in West Virginia , but there is no cannabis sales tax on it. There is no cannabis excise tax charged on medical marijuana in West Virginia.
Medical Marijuana is illegal in so there is no tax on medical marijuana in those states.
About Maryland Medical Marijuana
Is medical marijuana legal in Maryland?
Yes, medical marijuana is legal in Maryland
When and how did Maryland legalize marijuana for medical use?
Maryland legalized medical marijuana in 2014. This law was passed using House Bill 881 . The official name for this law is the Maryland Medical Cannabis Commission - also called Natalie M. LaPrade Maryland Medical Cannabis Commission (MMCC)
Maryland Medical Marijuana possession limits
- 30-day supply, max 120 grams
Is it legal to grow marijuana for medicinal use at home in Maryland?
No, medical marijuana patients are not allowed to grow marijuana for medicinal use a home.
Are there medical dispensaries available to patients?
Yes, as long as the patient presents the appropriate documentation for Maryland.
All 102 companies currently have pre-approval to operate as medical marijuana dispensaries. All dispensaries are required to undergoing acomplete criminal background investigations, complete regulatory requirements, securelocal zoning approvals, and compliance inspections by MMCC BEC staff.
Is there a list of specific conditions for medical marijuana in Maryland?
- Chronic pain
- Post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD)
- Severe pain
- Severe nausea
- Severe or persistent muscle spasms
- Wasting syndrome
The list above, and more detailed information on it, can be found in the Maryland medical marijuana law
Does Maryland have a medical registry system or ID card?
Yes, Maryland keeps track of their medical marijuna patients.
There is an initial $50 to create an account with the MMCC and then there isa $50 fee to obtain a physical medical marijuana card.
Does Maryland recognize patients from other states?
No, Maryland does not recognize patients from any state.
Are there any age restrictions for medical marijuana in Maryland?
You must be at least 18 years old to purchase medical marijuana with a card. Minors must have a caregiver who is at least 21 years old make the purchase.