Smith County Tennessee Sales Tax Rate 2020 Tennessee Sales Tax Rates: Smith County


Smith County, Tennessee Sales Tax Rate 2020 Up to 9.75%

The Smith County Sales Tax is 2%

A county-wide sales tax rate of 2% is applicable to localities in Smith County, in addition to the 7% Tennessee sales tax.

Some cities and local governments in Smith County collect additional local sales taxes, which can be as high as 0.75%.

Here's how Smith County's maximum sales tax rate of 9.75% compares to other counties around the United States:

  •   Higher maximum sales tax than any other Tennessee counties
  •   Higher maximum sales tax than 95% of counties nationwide
Last updated October 2020

Tax Rates By City in Smith County, Tennessee

The total sales tax rate in any given location can be broken down into state, county, city, and special district rates. Tennessee has a 7% sales tax and Smith County collects an additional 2%, so the minimum sales tax rate in Smith County is 9% (not including any city or special district taxes). This table shows the total sales tax rates for all cities and towns in Smith County, including all local taxes.

City Sales Tax Rate Tax Jurisdiction
Carthage 9.75% Carthage
Gordonsville 9.75% Gordonsville
Pleasant Shade 9% Smith County
Brush Creek 9% Smith County
Elmwood 9% Smith County
Hickman 9% Smith County
Buffalo Valley 9.75% Putnam County
Lancaster 9.75% Dekalb County
Riddleton 9% Smith County
Chestnut Mound 9% Smith County

Tennessee Sales Tax Rates by Zip Code:

Need an updated list of Tennessee sales tax rates for your business? Download our Tennessee sales tax database!

Smith County, Tennessee has a maximum sales tax rate of 9.75% and an approximate population of 13,159.

Sales tax rates in Smith County are determined by five different tax jurisdictions, Smith County, Carthage, Dekalb County, Gordonsville and Putnam County.

  Back to Tennessee Sales Tax Handbook Sales tax rates for Smith County are current as of October 2020
** This Document Provided By SalesTaxHandbook **