Pierce County Washington Sales Tax Rate 2020 Washington Sales Tax Rates: Pierce County


Pierce County, Washington Sales Tax Rate 2020 Up to 10.2%

The Pierce County Sales Tax is 1.4%

A county-wide sales tax rate of 1.4% is applicable to localities in Pierce County, in addition to the 6.5% Washington sales tax.

Some cities and local governments in Pierce County collect additional local sales taxes, which can be as high as 2.3%.

Here's how Pierce County's maximum sales tax rate of 10.2% compares to other counties around the United States:

  •   Higher maximum sales tax than 97% of Washington counties
  •   Higher maximum sales tax than 97% of counties nationwide
Last updated July 2020

Tax Rates By City in Pierce County, Washington

The total sales tax rate in any given location can be broken down into state, county, city, and special district rates. Washington has a 6.5% sales tax and Pierce County collects an additional 1.4%, so the minimum sales tax rate in Pierce County is 7.9% (not including any city or special district taxes). This table shows the total sales tax rates for all cities and towns in Pierce County, including all local taxes.

City Sales Tax Rate Tax Jurisdiction
Tacoma 10.2% Tacoma
Tacoma 9.9% Pierce County Unincorp. P.t.b.a.
Puyallup 9.9% Pierce County Unincorp. P.t.b.a.
Lakewood 9.9% Lakewood
Gig Harbor 7.9% Pierce County Non-Rta
Bonney Lake 9.3% Pierce County
Puyallup 9.9% Puyallup
Spanaway 9.9% Pierce County Unincorp. P.t.b.a.
Tacoma 9.9% University Place
Tacoma 9.3% Pierce County
Puyallup 9.3% Pierce County
Graham 7.9% Pierce County Non-Rta
University Place 9.9% University Place
Buckley 7.9% Pierce County Non-Rta
Orting 9.3% Orting
Sumner 9.3% Sumner
Tacoma 9.9% Fife
Eatonville 7.9% Pierce County Non-Rta
Roy 7.9% Pierce County Non-Rta
Milton 9.9% Milton (Pierce Co)
Dupont 9.3% Dupont
Steilacoom 9.9% Steilacoom
Lakebay 7.9% Pierce County Non-Rta
Fox Island 7.9% Pierce County Non-Rta
Vaughn 7.9% Pierce County Non-Rta
Mckenna 7.9% Pierce County Non-Rta
Wauna 7.9% Pierce County Non-Rta
South Prairie 7.9% South Prairie
Anderson Island 7.9% Pierce County Non-Rta
Mcchord Afb 9.3% Pierce County
Longbranch 7.9% Pierce County Non-Rta
Wilkeson 7.9% Wilkeson
Carbonado 7.9% Carbonado
Ashford 7.9% Pierce County Non-Rta
Kapowsin 7.9% Pierce County Non-Rta
Elbe 7.9% Pierce County Non-Rta
Camp Murray 10.2% Tacoma

Washington Sales Tax Rates by Zip Code:

Need an updated list of Washington sales tax rates for your business? Download our Washington sales tax database!

Pierce County, Washington has a maximum sales tax rate of 10.2% and an approximate population of 639,099.

Sales tax rates in Pierce County are determined by sixteen different tax jurisdictions, Pierce County Non-Rta, Dupont, Milton (Pierce Co), Orting, Sumner, Fife, Tacoma, Pierce County, University Place, Pierce County Unincorp. P.t.b.a., Lakewood, Puyallup, Wilkeson, Carbonado, Steilacoom and South Prairie.

  Back to Washington Sales Tax Handbook Sales tax rates for Pierce County are current as of July 2020
** This Document Provided By SalesTaxHandbook **
Source: http://www.salestaxhandbook.com/washington/rates/pierce-county