Mississippi Recreational Marijuana Handbook
Mississippi Marijuana Tax Rate
|Sales Tax Medical||Excise Tax Medical||Max Medical Tax||Sales Tax Recreational||Excise Tax Recreational||Max Recreational Tax|
2023 Mississippi Recreational Marijuana Handbook
Mississippi has 4 bordering states consisting of Alabama, Arkansas, Louisiana, and Tennessee.
Recreational Marijuana is illegal in Alabama, Arkansas, Louisiana, and Tennessee, so there is no tax on recreational marijuana in those states.
About Mississippi Recreational Marijuana
Recreational marijuana is illegal in Mississippi.
Have there been any atttempts to legalize recreational marijuana in Mississippi?
Yes, there has been at least one attempt at legalizing recreational marijuana.
Visit the state page that is offering further information on Initiative 65.
Once the new law goes into effect, please find the previous rules and regulations that will most likely go into effect again.
Applicants applying for a marijuana card have to be certified through a physician and have one of the 22 debilitating conditions (listed below). The cards cost $50 and they are purchased through the licensed treatment center (dispensary).
However, it is important to know that there are only a limited number of licensed treatment centers available. Those who qualify must have one of the below conditions in order to obtain a marijuana card.
- Epilepsy or other seizures
- Parkinson’s disease
- Huntington’s disease
- Muscular dystrophy
- Multiple sclerosis
- Cachexia (weakness and wasting due to chronic illness)
- Post-traumatic stress disorder
- Chronic or debilitating pain
- Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis, or ALS
- Agitation from dementia
- Crohn’s disease
- Ulcerative colitis
- Sickle-cell anemia
- Autism with aggressive or self-injurious behaviors
- Pain refractory to appropriate opioid management
- Spinal cord disease or severe injury
- Intractable nausea
- Severe muscle spasticity
Unfortunately, out of state users are unable to purchase medical marijuana in the state as it is illegal to take the marijuana over state lines. However, Initiative 65 does not express that out of state residents are unable to receive a medical marijuana card, only that it cannot leave the state.
The parent or legal guardian of the patient under 18 must certify that the qualifying patient’s physicians have explained to them and the patient the potential risks and benefits of the medical use of marijuana, must give written consent for the use of medical marijuana by the patient under 18, written consent of the parent or legal guardian to serve as the patient’s primary caregiver and to control the acquisition, dosage and frequency of use by the patient, and proof of parentage or legal guardianship
Those who are legally able to smoke cannabis are allowed to have up to 2.5 ounces of cannabis that can be consumed every 2 weeks, and up to 2.5 oz of usable cannabis products.-->