Montana: Medical Marijuana Handbook
Montana Marijuana Tax Rate
|Sales Tax Medical||Excise Tax Medical||Max Medical Tax||Sales Tax Recreational||Excise Tax Recreational||Max Recreational Tax|
2021 Montana Medical Marijuana Handbook
Montana has 4 bordering states consisting of Idaho, North Dakota, South Dakota, and Wyoming.
Medical marijuana is legal in North Dakota and is subject to a cannabis sales tax of 5.00%. There is no cannabis excise tax charged on medical marijuana in North Dakota.
Medical marijuana is legal in South Dakota , but there is no cannabis sales tax on it. There is no cannabis excise tax charged on medical marijuana in South Dakota.
Medical Marijuana is illegal in Idaho, and Wyoming, so there is no tax on medical marijuana in those states.
About Montana Medical Marijuana
Is medical marijuana legal in Montana?
Yes, medical marijuana is legal in Montana
When and how did Montana legalize marijuana for medical use?
Montana legalized medical marijuana in 2004. This law was passed using Initiative 148 and passed with a vote of 62%. The official name for this law is the Montana Medical Marijuana Act
Montana Medical Marijuana possession limits
- 1 oz. marijuana
- 8 grams concentrate
- 2 plants at home and a maximum of 4 plants per household
Is it legal to grow marijuana for medicinal use at home in Montana?
Yes, medical marijuana patients are allowed to grow marijuana for medicinal use.
Registered cardholders can grow up to 4 mature and 4 seedling plants, and a maximum of 8 mature and 8 seedling plants per household, if there are multiple cardholders. Patients are limited to:
- a 60 day supply of dried unprocessed marijuana per patient for patients who do not cultivate their own or have marijuana cultivated for them
- a 90 day supply of dried unprocessed marijuana for patients who cultivate or have marijuana cultivated on their behalf.
Are there medical dispensaries available to patients?
Yes, as long as the patient presents the appropriate documentation for Montana.
To obtain a medical marijuana dispensary license, a provider license must first be applied for. If an applicant intends to manufacture and sell marijuana-infused products, they must first apply for a chemical manufacturing endorsement (MIPP license). After obtaining a provider/MIPP license, then the applicant is eligible for a medical marijuana dispensary business license through the DPHHS website.
Patients are limited to purchasing 5 ounces of marijuana in a one month period.
Is there a list of specific conditions for medical marijuana in Montana?
The list above, and more detailed information on it, can be found in the Montana medical marijuana law
Does Montana have a medical registry system or ID card?
Yes, Montana keeps track of their medical marijuna patients.
To get a Medical Marijuana Card in Montana, the following criteria must be satisfied:
- The applicant must be a resident in the state of Montana
- The applicant must be at least 18 years of age, or otherwise complete a separate form
- The applicant must have been diagnosed with a qualifying medical condition or have severe pain
Does Montana recognize patients from other states?
Yes, Montana recognizes medical marijuana patients from other states.
There is a reciprocal arrangement with other states. Medical card holders from out-of-state can purchase and consume marijuana while visiting.
Are there any age restrictions for medical marijuana in Montana?
A patient under age 18 cannot smoke marijuana unless a Montana resident, who is the minor's legal guardian applies for a medical marijuana card and obtains cannabis for and on behalf of the child.