Nevada: Medical Marijuana Handbook
Nevada Marijuana Tax Rate
|Sales Tax Medical||Excise Tax Medical||Max Medical Tax||Sales Tax Recreational||Excise Tax Recreational||Max Recreational Tax|
2023 Nevada Medical Marijuana Handbook
Nevada has 5 bordering states consisting of Arizona, California, Idaho, Oregon, and Utah.
Medical marijuana is legal in Arizona and is subject to a cannabis sales tax of 5.60%. There is no cannabis excise tax charged on medical marijuana in Arizona.
Medical marijuana is legal in California , but they choose not to tax medical marijuana. There is, however, a 15% cannabis excise tax on all sales of medical marijuana in California.
Medical marijuana is legal in Oregon , but they choose not to tax medical marijuana. There is no cannabis excise tax charged on medical marijuana in Oregon.
Medical marijuana is legal in Utah , but there is no cannabis sales tax on it. There is no cannabis excise tax charged on medical marijuana in Utah.
Medical Marijuana is illegal in Idaho, so there is no tax on medical marijuana in those states.
About Nevada Medical Marijuana
Is medical marijuana legal in Nevada?
Yes, medical marijuana is legal in Nevada
When and how did Nevada legalize marijuana for medical use?
Nevada legalized medical marijuana in 2000. This law was passed using Ballot Question 9 and passed with a vote of 65%. The official name for this law is the Medical Use of Cannabis Nev. Rev. Stat. Title 56, Sec. 678 et seq Medical Use of Marijuana Nev. Admin. Code Ch. 453A et seq
Nevada Medical Marijuana possession limits
- 2.5 oz. useable
- edibles with no more than 10,000 mg THC per patient per 14-day period
- 12 plants regardless of maturity
Is it legal to grow marijuana for medicinal use at home in Nevada?
There are certain conditions that would allow for a medical marijuana patient to grow marijuana for medicinal use.
Personal growing is not allowed for card holders in counties with a dispensary unless,
- the card holder was cultivating, growing, or producing cannabis in accordance with state law on or before July 1, 2013;
- the dispensar(ies) in their county are unable to supply the quantity or strain of cannabis medically necessary for the card holder to treat their specific medical condition;
- because of their condition or lack of transportation, the card holder cannot reasonably travel to a dispensary;
- or there was no medical cannabis dispensary operating within 25 miles of the card holder’s residence at the time the person first applied for their card.
Are there medical dispensaries available to patients?
Yes, as long as the patient presents the appropriate documentation for Nevada.
- dispensaries can deliver cannabis to a valid card holder by a cannabis agent who is authorized to make the delivery by the dispensary
- card holders can choose one dispensary as their designated dispensary at any one time but cannot change the designation more than once in a 30 day period
- The dispensary must post clearly and conspicuously within the dispensary the legal limits on possession of cannabis for medical purposes
- can only dispense 1 oz per person per transaction
Is there a list of specific conditions for medical marijuana in Nevada?
- autism spectrum disorder
- autoimmune disorder
- anorexia nervosa
- dependence upon or addiction to opioids,
- HIV or any medical condition related to HIV,
- a medical condition or treatment for a medical condition that produces for a specific patient:
- muscle spasms including without limitation spasms caused by multiple sclerosis,
- seizures including without limitation seizures caused by epilepsy,
- severe or chronic pain
- a neuropathic condition, whether or not such condition causes seizures
The list above, and more detailed information on it, can be found in the Nevada medical marijuana law
Does Nevada have a medical registry system or ID card?
Yes, Nevada keeps track of their medical marijuna patients.
- 1 year card: $50
- 2 year card: $100
- cards and letters are issued for a period of either 1 or 2 years as specified by the health care provider on the initial or renewal application.
- the health care provider must show that the person has been diagnosed with a chronic or debilitating medical condition, the medical use of marijuana may mitigate the symptoms or effects of the condition, and the health care provider must explain the possible risks and benefits of the use of marijuana.
Does Nevada recognize patients from other states?
Yes, Nevada recognizes medical marijuana patients from other states.
A person who is not a resident of Nevada but is authorized to engage in the medical use of cannabis under the laws of their residential state or jurisdiction is deemed to hold a valid registry identification card for purposes of being exempt from state prosecution provided the person follows the legal limits on possession, delivery, and production of cannabis for medical purposes in. A dispensary can dispense cannabis to this person if they present any document that is valid to prove that they are authorized to engage in the medical use of cannabis under the laws of their resident state or jurisdiction. This can include written documentation from a doctor or other health care provider.
Are there any age restrictions for medical marijuana in Nevada?
Patients aged at least 10 but less than 18 are eligible for registration cards and patients under the age of 10 are eligible for a letter of approval. In all cases, the custodial parent or legal guardian with responsibility for healthcare decisions for the minor must sign a written statement confirming that the minor’s healthcare provider explained to the minor and their parent or legal guardian the possible risks and benefits of medical use of cannabis; that the parent or legal guardian consents to the medical use of cannabis by the minor for medical purposes; and, that the parent or legal guardian agrees to control the acquisition of cannabis as well as dosage and frequency of use-->