New Hampshire: Medical Marijuana Handbook
New Hampshire Marijuana Tax Rate
|Sales Tax Medical||Excise Tax Medical||Max Medical Tax||Sales Tax Recreational||Excise Tax Recreational||Max Recreational Tax|
2023 New Hampshire Medical Marijuana Handbook
New Hampshire has 3 bordering states consisting of Maine, Massachusetts, and Vermont.
Medical marijuana is legal in Maine and is subject to a cannabis sales tax of 5.50%. There is no cannabis excise tax charged on medical marijuana in Maine.
Medical marijuana is legal in Massachusetts , but they choose not to tax medical marijuana. There is no cannabis excise tax charged on medical marijuana in Massachusetts.
Medical marijuana is legal in Vermont and is subject to a cannabis sales tax of 6.00%. There is no cannabis excise tax charged on medical marijuana in Vermont.
Medical Marijuana is illegal in so there is no tax on medical marijuana in those states.
About New Hampshire Medical Marijuana
Is medical marijuana legal in New Hampshire?
Yes, medical marijuana is legal in New Hampshire
When and how did New Hampshire legalize marijuana for medical use?
New Hampshire legalized medical marijuana in 2013. This law was passed using House Bill 573 . The official name for this law is the New Hampshire Medical Marijuana Law - Therapeutic Cannabis Program
New Hampshire Medical Marijuana possession limits
- 2 ounces
Is it legal to grow marijuana for medicinal use at home in New Hampshire?
No, medical marijuana patients are not allowed to grow marijuana for medicinal use a home.
Are there medical dispensaries available to patients?
Yes, as long as the patient presents the appropriate documentation for New Hampshire.
There are only five dispensaries located in New Hampshire that are allowed to sell medical marijuana.
Is there a list of specific conditions for medical marijuana in New Hampshire?
- Alzheimer’s disease
- Chemotherapy induced anorexia
- Chronic Pain
- Chronic pancreatitis
- Crohn’s disease
- Ehlers-Danlos syndrome
- Elevated intraocular pressure
- Hepatitis C (currently receiving antiviral treatment)
- Moderate to severe vomiting
- Multiple Sclerosis
- Muscular Dystrophy
- Opioid use disorder (effective: October 8, 2021)
- Parkinson’s disease
- Persistent muscle spasms
- Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder
- Severe pain (that has not responded to previously prescribed medication)
- Spinal cord injury or disease
- Traumatic brain injury
- Wasting syndrome
The list above, and more detailed information on it, can be found in the New Hampshire medical marijuana law
Does New Hampshire have a medical registry system or ID card?
Yes, New Hampshire keeps track of their medical marijuna patients.
The Minor Patient Application and the Guardianship Patient Application are applications for both the patient and caregiver to complete respectively. They each have a $50 fee. These patients can have up to 2 designated caregivers, but only a parent or legal guardian can be a caregiver.
Does New Hampshire recognize patients from other states?
Yes, New Hampshire recognizes medical marijuana patients from other states.
If they have a card from out of state for one of New Hampshire's qualifying medical conditions then their card is recognized. They can purchase two ounces over a 10 day period.
Are there any age restrictions for medical marijuana in New Hampshire?
check spelling here You must be 18 years old to purchase medical marijuana. However, minors with a qualifying health condition can obtain a medical marijuana card but their designated caregiver must make the purchase.