New Jersey: Medical Marijuana Handbook
New Jersey Marijuana Tax Rate
|Sales Tax Medical
|Excise Tax Medical
|Max Medical Tax
|Sales Tax Recreational
|Excise Tax Recreational
|Max Recreational Tax
2024 New Jersey Medical Marijuana Handbook
New Jersey has 3 bordering states consisting of Delaware, New York, and Pennsylvania.
Medical marijuana is legal in Delaware , but there is no cannabis sales tax on it. There is no cannabis excise tax charged on medical marijuana in Delaware.
Medical marijuana is legal in New York , but they choose not to tax medical marijuana. There is, however, a 7% cannabis excise tax on all sales of medical marijuana in New York.
Medical marijuana is legal in Pennsylvania , but they choose not to tax medical marijuana. There is, however, a 5% cannabis excise tax on all sales of medical marijuana in Pennsylvania.
Medical Marijuana is illegal in so there is no tax on medical marijuana in those states.
About New Jersey Medical Marijuana
Is medical marijuana legal in New Jersey?
Yes, medical marijuana is legal in New Jersey
When and how did New Jersey legalize marijuana for medical use?
New Jersey legalized medical marijuana in 2010. This law was passed using Senate Bill 119 . The official name for this law is the Jake Honig Compassionate Use Medical Cannabis Act (New Jersey Stat. Ann. 24:6I)
New Jersey Medical Marijuana possession limits
- 3 oz. in 30-day period
- unlimited for patients who are terminally ill or who are receiving care through a licensed hospice facility
Is it legal to grow marijuana for medicinal use at home in New Jersey?
No, medical marijuana patients are not allowed to grow marijuana for medicinal use a home.
Are there medical dispensaries available to patients?
Yes, as long as the patient presents the appropriate documentation for New Jersey.
Dispensaries are required to possess two (2) ounces of usable marijuana per registered qualified patient plus an additional supply necessary to meet the demand of newly registered patients. They must also come up with plans to provide information to patients and their primary caregivers regarding limitations on the right to possess, potential side effects, differing strengths of dispensed products, safe use techniques, alternative methods of consumption, signs and symptoms of substance abuse, and information on tolerance.
Is there a list of specific conditions for medical marijuana in New Jersey?
- seizure disorder, including epilepsy, intractable skeletal muscular spasticity, or glaucoma if the condition is resistant to or the patient is intolerant to conventional medical therapy for the condition
- HIV+, AIDS, or cancer if the condition or the treatment for the condition causes severe or chronic pain, severe nausea or vomiting, cachexia or wasting syndrome
- Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS)
- multiple sclerosis
- muscular dystrophy
- inflammatory bowel disease including Crohn’s disease
- terminal cancer
- terminal illness if the patient has a prognosis of less than 12 months of life
- anxiety, chronic pain associated with a musculoskeletal disorder, chronic pain of a visceral origin, migraines, Tourette syndrome, and post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD)
- opioid use disorder provided the patient is participating in a compliant with medication-assisted treatment for the opioid use disorder
- any other medical condition or its treatment that is approved by the Department.
- *dysmenorrhea is listed as a condition in the statute but is not listed in the administrative rule
The list above, and more detailed information on it, can be found in the New Jersey medical marijuana law
Does New Jersey have a medical registry system or ID card?
Yes, New Jersey keeps track of their medical marijuna patients.
Registrations are valid for a period of two years. Each qualifying patient may have up to two designated caregivers but may petition for more designated caregivers. Institutional caregivers can also obtain registration, but these are valid for one year. An institutional caregiver can have unlimited qualifying patients provided they are current patients or residents of the institution. A provider may authorize marijuana for a patient via telehealth or telemedicine visit if it consistent with the standard of care.
Does New Jersey recognize patients from other states?
Yes, New Jersey recognizes medical marijuana patients from other states.
An individual who is registered as a qualifying patient in another state or jurisdiction that authorizes the medical use of cannabis will be considered a qualified patient for a period of up to 6 months as long as the individual has both proof of registration and a valid photo identification from the other state or jurisdiction, and a New Jersey licensed health care practitioner has issued written instructions for the individual to be dispensed medical cannabis.
Are there any age restrictions for medical marijuana in New Jersey?
There is no specific age restriction in the definition of a qualified patient, but for minors seeking a registration as a qualified patient, the minor’s custodial parent or legal guardian/custodian must consent in writing in the application to the minor’s medical marijuana and must acknowledge that they will control the acquisition and possession of the medicinal marijuana and any related paraphernalia.
Medical Marijuana Administrative Rules Click here-->