Ohio: Medical Marijuana Handbook
Ohio Marijuana Tax Rate
|Sales Tax Medical||Excise Tax Medical||Max Medical Tax||Sales Tax Recreational||Excise Tax Recreational||Max Recreational Tax|
2022 Ohio Medical Marijuana Handbook
Ohio has 5 bordering states consisting of Indiana, Kentucky, Michigan, Pennsylvania, and West Virginia.
Medical marijuana is legal in Michigan and is subject to a cannabis sales tax of 6.00%. There is no cannabis excise tax charged on medical marijuana in Michigan.
Medical marijuana is legal in Pennsylvania , but they choose not to tax medical marijuana. There is, however, a 5% cannabis excise tax on all sales of medical marijuana in Pennsylvania.
Medical marijuana is legal in West Virginia , but they choose not to tax medical marijuana. There is, however, a 10% cannabis excise tax on all sales of medical marijuana in West Virginia.
Medical Marijuana is illegal in Indiana, Kentucky, so there is no tax on medical marijuana in those states.
About Ohio Medical Marijuana
Is medical marijuana legal in Ohio?
Yes, medical marijuana is legal in Ohio
When and how did Ohio legalize marijuana for medical use?
Ohio legalized medical marijuana in 2016. This law was passed using House Bill 523 . The official name for this law is the Medical Marijuana Control Program Ohio Rev. Code Sec. 3796.01 et seq Ohio Admin. Code Section 3796.01
Ohio Medical Marijuana possession limits
- 90-day supply
The following are equivalent to a 90-day supply: - 8 oz. with THC of 23% or less - 5.3 oz. with THC of more than 23% to 35% - 26.55 grams of THC for lotions/ointments - 9.9 grams of THC in oils for oral administration - 53.1 grams of THC in oils for vaporization
Is it legal to grow marijuana for medicinal use at home in Ohio?
No, medical marijuana patients are not allowed to grow marijuana for medicinal use a home.
Are there medical dispensaries available to patients?
Yes, as long as the patient presents the appropriate documentation for Ohio.
- can only dispense medical marijuana with the following forms: oils, tinctures, material, edibles and patches. Smoking or combustion is prohibited, but vaporization is allowed.
- plant material can have THC content of no more than 35%, extracts can have THC content of no more than 70%
- dispensary cannot be located within 500 feet of the boundaries of land on which is situated a school (including child day care centers), church, public library, public playground, or public park or within 500 feet of a community addiction services provider
- cannot dispense more than a 90-day supply to a patient in a 90-day period.
- dispensary cannot operate a drive-through window or deliver medical marijuana to patients or caregivers. It cannot operate if its surveillance equipment is inoperable.
Is there a list of specific conditions for medical marijuana in Ohio?
- amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS)
- chronic traumatic encephalopathy
- Crohn’s disease
- epilepsy or another seizure disorder
- Hepatitis C
- inflammatory bowel disease
- pain that is either chronic and severe or intractable
- post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD)
- sickle cell anemia
- spinal cord disease or injury
- Tourette’s syndrome
- traumatic brain injury
- ulcerative colitis
The list above, and more detailed information on it, can be found in the Ohio medical marijuana law
Does Ohio have a medical registry system or ID card?
Yes, Ohio keeps track of their medical marijuna patients.
- the annual registration fee is $50 but will be reduced to $25 for indigent patients on SSDI or SSI or veteran patients
- cards are issued for a period of one year and must be renewed annually
- patients with a terminal illness will be given a card that is valid for six months. If they are still alive after six months and their physician continues to recommend medical cannabis, they will be issued a card for a period of one year
Does Ohio recognize patients from other states?
No, Ohio does not recognize patients from any state.
Are there any age restrictions for medical marijuana in Ohio?
Minors must have consent from their parent or legal guardian to obtain medical marijuana. The application must be accompanied by a caregiver registration application