Oregon: Medical Marijuana Handbook
Oregon Marijuana Tax Rate
|Sales Tax Medical||Excise Tax Medical||Max Medical Tax||Sales Tax Recreational||Excise Tax Recreational||Max Recreational Tax|
2022 Oregon Medical Marijuana Handbook
Oregon has 4 bordering states consisting of California, Idaho, Nevada, and Washington.
Medical marijuana is legal in California , but they choose not to tax medical marijuana. There is, however, a 15% cannabis excise tax on all sales of medical marijuana in California.
Medical marijuana is legal in Nevada and is subject to a cannabis sales tax of 6.85%. There is no cannabis excise tax charged on medical marijuana in Nevada.
Medical marijuana is legal in Washington , but they choose not to tax medical marijuana. There is no cannabis excise tax charged on medical marijuana in Washington.
Medical Marijuana is illegal in Idaho, so there is no tax on medical marijuana in those states.
About Oregon Medical Marijuana
Is medical marijuana legal in Oregon?
Yes, medical marijuana is legal in Oregon
When and how did Oregon legalize marijuana for medical use?
Oregon legalized medical marijuana in 1998. This law was passed using Ballot Measure 67 and passed with a vote of 55%. The official name for this law is the The Oregon Medical Marijuana Act Ore. R.S. Title 37, Chap 475B.400
Oregon Medical Marijuana possession limits
- 24 oz.
- Registered patient and their registered caregiver may jointly possess up to 6 mature plants and up to 12 immature plants.
Is it legal to grow marijuana for medicinal use at home in Oregon?
Yes, medical marijuana patients are allowed to grow marijuana for medicinal use.
Patients can grow for themselves but they are required to disclose the grow site address which must be located in Oregon and can have only one grow site address registered to them. They can designate an individual 21 or over to grow for them but they must still disclose the grow site which must be located in Oregon. OMMP conducts a criminal background check on all designated growers and those with a felony related to marijuana after 1/1/2006 are prohibited from growing for a patient for 2 years from the date of conviction. If they have more than one conviction, they are permanently barred from growing. A grower cannot grow for more than 8 patients at a time and cannot grow more than 6 mature plants per patient. If the grow site is not owed by the grower, they must provide proof of consent of the owner of the property to it being used to grow marijuana.
Are there medical dispensaries available to patients?
Yes, as long as the patient presents the appropriate documentation for Oregon.
Dispensaries may not be located in areas zoned for residential use and cannot be located at the same address as a marijuana grow site. They also cannot be located within 1000 feet of a public or parochial school or another dispensary. All dispensaries must install and maintain a minimum security system that includes video surveillance, an alarm system and a safe. Employees who work at a dispensary and are also valid program patients can use medical marijuana during work hours but cannot smoke or use a system that involves combusting, inhaling, vaporizing, or aerosolizing. They must consume the medical marijuana in alone in a closed room where no dispensary marijuana items are present.
Is there a list of specific conditions for medical marijuana in Oregon?
- a degenerative or pervasive neurological condition,
- HIV/AIDS, or a side effect related to the treatment of those medical conditions
- A medical condition or treatment for a medical condition that produces, for a specific patient, one or more of the following:
- Severe pain
- Severe nausea
- Seizures, including seizures caused by epilepsy
- Persistent muscle spasms, including spasms caused by multiple sclerosis
- Post-traumatic stress disorder;
The list above, and more detailed information on it, can be found in the Oregon medical marijuana law
Does Oregon have a medical registry system or ID card?
Yes, Oregon keeps track of their medical marijuna patients.
Cards are issued for a period of one year and must be renewed each year. Fees top out at $200 and drop to $60 (SNAP recipient), $50 (Oregon Health Plan), and $20 (SSI recipient or disabled vets) a year. A service-disabled veteran who has been rated as 100 percent disabled by the VA or assigned a total and permanent disability such that they are unable to secure work does not need to include updated written documentation from their doctor regarding their continuing debilitating medical condition. All others must include documentation each year recertifying their continuing debilitating medical condition.
Does Oregon recognize patients from other states?
No, Oregon does not recognize patients from any state.
Are there any age restrictions for medical marijuana in Oregon?
A qualified patient under the age of 18 may receive a registration card if their custodial parent or legal guardian signs a written statement affirming that their doctor has explained to the patient and the parent or legal guardian the risks and benefits of medical use of marijuana; the parent or legal guardian consents to the use by the patient; they agree to serve as the designated primary caregiver; and they agree to control the acquisition, dosage, and frequency of use of the marijuana. Patients under the age of 18 cannot apply for cultivation registrations.