Alameda County California Sales Tax Rate 2023 California Sales Tax Rates: Alameda County


Alameda County, California Sales Tax Rate 2023 Up to 10.75%

The Alameda County Sales Tax is 0.25%

A county-wide sales tax rate of 0.25% is applicable to localities in Alameda County, in addition to the 6% California sales tax.

Some cities and local governments in Alameda County collect additional local sales taxes, which can be as high as 4.5%.

Here's how Alameda County's maximum sales tax rate of 10.75% compares to other counties around the United States:

  •   Higher maximum sales tax than any other California counties
  •   Higher maximum sales tax than 97% of counties nationwide
Last updated March 2023

Tax Rates By City in Alameda County, California

The total sales tax rate in any given location can be broken down into state, county, city, and special district rates. California has a 6% sales tax and Alameda County collects an additional 0.25%, so the minimum sales tax rate in Alameda County is 6.25% (not including any city or special district taxes). This table shows the total sales tax rates for all cities and towns in Alameda County, including all local taxes.

City Sales Tax Rate Tax Jurisdiction
Oakland 10.25% Oakland
Hayward 10.75% Hayward
San Leandro 10.75% San Leandro
Oakland 10.25% Alameda
Berkeley 10.25% Berkeley Tourism Business Improvement District
Alameda 10.75% Alameda
Union City 10.75% Hayward
Fremont 10.75% Union City
Oakland 10.75% San Leandro
Fremont 10.75% Newark
Castro Valley 10.75% Hayward
Fremont 10.25% Tri Valley Tourism Marketing District
Livermore 10.25% Pleasanton
Pleasanton 10.25% Pleasanton
Newark 10.75% Newark
Dublin 10.25% Dublin
Livermore 10.25% Dublin
Fremont 10.25% Fremont
Pleasanton 10.75% Hayward
San Lorenzo 10.75% Hayward
Emeryville 10.5% Emeryville
Berkeley 10.75% Albany
Albany 10.75% Albany
Oakland 10.25% Berkeley Tourism Business Improvement District
Sunol 10.25% Tri Valley Tourism Marketing District
Piedmont 10.25% Oakland

California Sales Tax Rates by Zip Code:

Need an updated list of California sales tax rates for your business? Download our California sales tax database!

Alameda County, California has a maximum sales tax rate of 10.75% and an approximate population of 1,185,919.

Sales tax rates in Alameda County are determined by thirteen different tax jurisdictions, Tri Valley Tourism Marketing District, Albany, Dublin, Newark, Alameda, Fremont, Union City, Hayward, Oakland, San Leandro, Berkeley Tourism Business Improvement District, Pleasanton and Emeryville.

  Back to California Sales Tax Handbook Sales tax rates for Alameda County are current as of March 2023
** This Document Provided By SalesTaxHandbook **