Contra Costa County California Sales Tax Rate 2020 California Sales Tax Rates: Contra Costa County


Contra Costa County, California Sales Tax Rate 2020 Up to 9.75%

The Contra Costa County Sales Tax is 0.25%

A county-wide sales tax rate of 0.25% is applicable to localities in Contra Costa County, in addition to the 6% California sales tax.

Some cities and local governments in Contra Costa County collect additional local sales taxes, which can be as high as 3.5%.

Here's how Contra Costa County's maximum sales tax rate of 9.75% compares to other counties around the United States:

  •   Higher maximum sales tax than 98% of California counties
  •   Higher maximum sales tax than 95% of counties nationwide
Last updated September 2020

Tax Rates By City in Contra Costa County, California

The total sales tax rate in any given location can be broken down into state, county, city, and special district rates. California has a 6% sales tax and Contra Costa County collects an additional 0.25%, so the minimum sales tax rate in Contra Costa County is 6.25% (not including any city or special district taxes). This table shows the total sales tax rates for all cities and towns in Contra Costa County, including all local taxes.

City Sales Tax Rate Tax Jurisdiction
Concord 8.75% Concord
Antioch 9.25% Antioch
Walnut Creek 8.25% Walnut Creek
San Ramon 8.25% San Ramon
Pittsburg 8.75% Pittsburg
Richmond 9.25% Richmond
San Pablo 8.75% San Pablo
Brentwood 8.25% Brentwood
Martinez 9.25% Martinez
Danville 8.25% Danville
Pleasant Hill 8.75% Pleasant Hill
Oakley 8.25% Oakley
Lafayette 8.25% Lafayette
El Cerrito 9.75% El Cerrito
El Sobrante 8.25% Contra Costa County
Danville 8.25% Tri Valley Tourism Marketing District
Hercules 8.75% Hercules
Orinda 8.75% Orinda
Pinole 9.25% Pinole
Alamo 8.25% Tri Valley Tourism Marketing District
Moraga 9.25% Moraga
Clayton 8.25% Clayton
Discovery Bay 8.25% Contra Costa County
Rodeo 8.25% Contra Costa County
Crockett 8.25% Contra Costa County
Byron 8.25% Contra Costa County
Bethel Island 8.25% Contra Costa County
Diablo 8.25% Contra Costa County
Knightsen 8.25% Contra Costa County
Canyon 8.25% Contra Costa County
Port Costa 8.25% Contra Costa County

California Sales Tax Rates by Zip Code:

Need an updated list of California sales tax rates for your business? Download our California sales tax database!

Contra Costa County, California has a maximum sales tax rate of 9.75% and an approximate population of 849,198.

Sales tax rates in Contra Costa County are determined by 21 different tax jurisdictions, Tri Valley Tourism Marketing District, Contra Costa County, Moraga, Oakley, Orinda, Pinole, Antioch, Clayton, Concord, Danville, Hercules, Martinez, Richmond, Brentwood, Lafayette, Pittsburg, San Pablo, San Ramon, El Cerrito, Walnut Creek and Pleasant Hill.

  Back to California Sales Tax Handbook Sales tax rates for Contra Costa County are current as of September 2020
** This Document Provided By SalesTaxHandbook **