San Mateo County California Sales Tax Rate 2023 California Sales Tax Rates: San Mateo County


San Mateo County, California Sales Tax Rate 2023 Up to 9.875%

The San Mateo County Sales Tax is 0.25%

A county-wide sales tax rate of 0.25% is applicable to localities in San Mateo County, in addition to the 6% California sales tax.

Some cities and local governments in San Mateo County collect additional local sales taxes, which can be as high as 3.625%.

Here's how San Mateo County's maximum sales tax rate of 9.875% compares to other counties around the United States:

  •   Higher maximum sales tax than 90% of California counties
  •   Higher maximum sales tax than 90% of counties nationwide
Last updated March 2023

Tax Rates By City in San Mateo County, California

The total sales tax rate in any given location can be broken down into state, county, city, and special district rates. California has a 6% sales tax and San Mateo County collects an additional 0.25%, so the minimum sales tax rate in San Mateo County is 6.25% (not including any city or special district taxes). This table shows the total sales tax rates for all cities and towns in San Mateo County, including all local taxes.

City Sales Tax Rate Tax Jurisdiction
Daly City 9.875% Daly City
Redwood City 9.875% Redwood City
South San Francisco 9.875% Daly City
San Mateo 9.625% San Mateo
Burlingame 9.625% Burlingame
San Bruno 9.875% San Bruno
San Mateo 9.875% Belmont
Menlo Park 9.875% East Palo Alto
Pacifica 9.875% South San Francisco
San Carlos 9.875% Redwood City
San Mateo 9.625% Burlingame
Belmont 9.875% Belmont
Millbrae 9.875% San Bruno
Half Moon Bay 9.375% Half Moon Bay Hotel Business Improvement District
Portola Valley 9.375% San Mateo
Atherton 9.375% San Mateo
Brisbane 9.875% South San Francisco
El Granada 9.375% San Mateo
Montara 9.375% Half Moon Bay Hotel Business Improvement District
Moss Beach 9.375% San Mateo
Pescadero 9.375% Half Moon Bay Hotel Business Improvement District
La Honda 9.375% San Mateo
Menlo Park 9.375% San Mateo
South San Francisco 9.875% South San Francisco
Loma Mar 9.375% San Mateo
San Gregorio 9.375% San Mateo

California Sales Tax Rates by Zip Code:

Need an updated list of California sales tax rates for your business? Download our California sales tax database!

San Mateo County, California has a maximum sales tax rate of 9.875% and an approximate population of 582,010.

Sales tax rates in San Mateo County are determined by nine different tax jurisdictions, Belmont, Half Moon Bay Hotel Business Improvement District, San Mateo, South San Francisco, San Bruno, Daly City, Burlingame, East Palo Alto and Redwood City.

  Back to California Sales Tax Handbook Sales tax rates for San Mateo County are current as of March 2023
** This Document Provided By SalesTaxHandbook **