Newton County Georgia Sales Tax Rate 2021 Georgia Sales Tax Rates: Newton County


Newton County, Georgia Sales Tax Rate 2021 Up to 7%

The Newton County Sales Tax is 3%

A county-wide sales tax rate of 3% is applicable to localities in Newton County, in addition to the 4% Georgia sales tax.

Some cities and local governments in Newton County collect additional local sales taxes, which can be as high as 8.8817841970013E-16%.

Here's how Newton County's maximum sales tax rate of 7% compares to other counties around the United States:

  •   Lower maximum sales tax than 98% of Georgia counties
  •   Lower maximum sales tax than 64% of counties nationwide
Last updated October 2021

Tax Rates By City in Newton County, Georgia

The total sales tax rate in any given location can be broken down into state, county, city, and special district rates. Georgia has a 4% sales tax and Newton County collects an additional 3%, so the minimum sales tax rate in Newton County is 7% (not including any city or special district taxes). This table shows the total sales tax rates for all cities and towns in Newton County, including all local taxes.

City Sales Tax Rate Tax Jurisdiction
Covington 7% Newton County
Oxford 7% Newton County
Mansfield 7% Jasper County
Covington 7% Covington
Porterdale 7% Porterdale

Georgia Sales Tax Rates by Zip Code:

Need an updated list of Georgia sales tax rates for your business? Download our Georgia sales tax database!

Newton County, Georgia has a maximum sales tax rate of 7% and an approximate population of 77,097.

Sales tax rates in Newton County are determined by four different tax jurisdictions, Newton County, Covington, Jasper County and Porterdale.

  Back to Georgia Sales Tax Handbook Sales tax rates for Newton County are current as of October 2021
** This Document Provided By SalesTaxHandbook **