Sumter County Georgia Sales Tax Rate 2021 Georgia Sales Tax Rates: Sumter County


Sumter County, Georgia Sales Tax Rate 2021 Up to 8%

The Sumter County Sales Tax is 3%

A county-wide sales tax rate of 3% is applicable to localities in Sumter County, in addition to the 4% Georgia sales tax.

Some cities and local governments in Sumter County collect additional local sales taxes, which can be as high as 1%.

Here's how Sumter County's maximum sales tax rate of 8% compares to other counties around the United States:

  •   Higher maximum sales tax than 99% of Georgia counties
  •   Higher maximum sales tax than 69% of counties nationwide
Last updated October 2021

Tax Rates By City in Sumter County, Georgia

The total sales tax rate in any given location can be broken down into state, county, city, and special district rates. Georgia has a 4% sales tax and Sumter County collects an additional 3%, so the minimum sales tax rate in Sumter County is 7% (not including any city or special district taxes). This table shows the total sales tax rates for all cities and towns in Sumter County, including all local taxes.

City Sales Tax Rate Tax Jurisdiction
Americus 8% Sumter County
Plains 8% Plains
Leslie 8% Sumter County
Andersonville 8% Andersonville
Cobb 8% Sumter County
De Soto 8% Sumter County

Georgia Sales Tax Rates by Zip Code:

Need an updated list of Georgia sales tax rates for your business? Download our Georgia sales tax database!

Sumter County, Georgia has a maximum sales tax rate of 8% and an approximate population of 22,761.

Sales tax rates in Sumter County are determined by three different tax jurisdictions, Sumter County, Plains and Andersonville.

  Back to Georgia Sales Tax Handbook Sales tax rates for Sumter County are current as of October 2021
** This Document Provided By SalesTaxHandbook **