Carroll County Illinois Sales Tax Rate 2021 Illinois Sales Tax Rates: Carroll County


Carroll County, Illinois Sales Tax Rate 2021 Up to 6.5%

The Carroll County Sales Tax is 0.25%

A county-wide sales tax rate of 0.25% is applicable to localities in Carroll County, in addition to the 6.25% Illinois sales tax.

None of the cities or local governments within Carroll County collect additional local sales taxes.

Here's how Carroll County's maximum sales tax rate of 6.5% compares to other counties around the United States:

  •   Lower maximum sales tax than 88% of Illinois counties
  •   Lower maximum sales tax than 70% of counties nationwide
Last updated October 2021

Tax Rates By City in Carroll County, Illinois

The total sales tax rate in any given location can be broken down into state, county, city, and special district rates. Illinois has a 6.25% sales tax and Carroll County collects an additional 0.25%, so the minimum sales tax rate in Carroll County is 6.5% (not including any city or special district taxes). This table shows the total sales tax rates for all cities and towns in Carroll County, including all local taxes.

City Sales Tax Rate Tax Jurisdiction
Savanna 6.5% Savanna
Lanark 6.5% Carroll County
Mount Carroll 6.5% Mount Carroll
Thomson 6.5% Carroll County
Milledgeville 6.5% Carroll County
Shannon 6.5% Shannon
Chadwick 6.5% Carroll County

Illinois Sales Tax Rates by Zip Code:

Need an updated list of Illinois sales tax rates for your business? Download our Illinois sales tax database!

Carroll County, Illinois has a maximum sales tax rate of 6.5% and an approximate population of 14,297.

Sales tax rates in Carroll County are determined by four different tax jurisdictions, Carroll County, Savanna, Shannon and Mount Carroll.

  Back to Illinois Sales Tax Handbook Sales tax rates for Carroll County are current as of October 2021
** This Document Provided By SalesTaxHandbook **