Champaign County Illinois Sales Tax Rate 2021 Illinois Sales Tax Rates: Champaign County


Champaign County, Illinois Sales Tax Rate 2021 Up to 9%

The Champaign County Sales Tax is 1.25%

A county-wide sales tax rate of 1.25% is applicable to localities in Champaign County, in addition to the 6.25% Illinois sales tax.

Some cities and local governments in Champaign County collect additional local sales taxes, which can be as high as 1.5%.

Here's how Champaign County's maximum sales tax rate of 9% compares to other counties around the United States:

  •   Higher maximum sales tax than 88% of Illinois counties
  •   Higher maximum sales tax than 86% of counties nationwide
Last updated October 2021

Tax Rates By City in Champaign County, Illinois

The total sales tax rate in any given location can be broken down into state, county, city, and special district rates. Illinois has a 6.25% sales tax and Champaign County collects an additional 1.25%, so the minimum sales tax rate in Champaign County is 7.5% (not including any city or special district taxes). This table shows the total sales tax rates for all cities and towns in Champaign County, including all local taxes.

City Sales Tax Rate Tax Jurisdiction
Champaign 9% Champaign
Urbana 9% Urbana
Rantoul 9% Rantoul
Mahomet 7.5% Mahomet
Saint Joseph 8% Saint Joseph
Savoy 8% Savoy
Tolono 7.5% Tolono
Fisher 7.5% Fisher
Homer 7.5% Homer
Philo 7.5% Philo
Sidney 7.5% Sidney
Thomasboro 7.5% Thomasboro
Ogden 8.5% Ogden
Gifford 7.5% Gifford
Pesotum 7.5% Pesotum
Sadorus 7.5% Sadorus
Seymour 7.5% Champaign County
Dewey 7.5% Champaign County
Ludlow 7.5% Ludlow
Penfield 7.5% Champaign County
Broadlands 7.5% Broadlands
Royal 7.5% Royal
Foosland 7.5% Champaign County
Ivesdale 7.5% Champaign County
Longview 7.5% Longview
Bondville 7.5% Bondville

Illinois Sales Tax Rates by Zip Code:

Need an updated list of Illinois sales tax rates for your business? Download our Illinois sales tax database!

Champaign County, Illinois has a maximum sales tax rate of 9% and an approximate population of 139,300.

Sales tax rates in Champaign County are determined by 22 different tax jurisdictions, Champaign County, Homer, Ogden, Philo, Royal, Savoy, Fisher, Ludlow, Sidney, Tolono, Urbana, Gifford, Mahomet, Pesotum, Rantoul, Sadorus, Longview, Bondville, Champaign, Broadlands, Thomasboro and Saint Joseph.

  Back to Illinois Sales Tax Handbook Sales tax rates for Champaign County are current as of October 2021
** This Document Provided By SalesTaxHandbook **