Franklin County Illinois Sales Tax Rate 2024 Illinois Sales Tax Rates: Franklin County


Franklin County, Illinois Sales Tax Rate 2024 Up to 9.5%

The Franklin County Sales Tax is 2%

A county-wide sales tax rate of 2% is applicable to localities in Franklin County, in addition to the 6.25% Illinois sales tax.

Some cities and local governments in Franklin County collect additional local sales taxes, which can be as high as 1.25%.

Here's how Franklin County's maximum sales tax rate of 9.5% compares to other counties around the United States:

  •   Higher maximum sales tax than 83% of Illinois counties
  •   Higher maximum sales tax than 85% of counties nationwide
Last updated July 2024

Tax Rates By City in Franklin County, Illinois

The total sales tax rate in any given location can be broken down into state, county, city, and special district rates. Illinois has a 6.25% sales tax and Franklin County collects an additional 2%, so the minimum sales tax rate in Franklin County is 8.25% (not including any city or special district taxes). This table shows the total sales tax rates for all cities and towns in Franklin County, including all local taxes.

City Sales Tax Rate Tax Jurisdiction
West Frankfort 9.25% West Frankfort
Benton 9.5% Benton
Sesser 9.5% Sesser
Christopher 9.25% Christopher
Thompsonville 8.25% Franklin
Mulkeytown 9.25% Christopher
Zeigler 8.25% Franklin
Royalton 8.25% Franklin
Ewing 8.25% Franklin
Valier 9.25% Christopher
Logan 8.25% Hanaford
Coello 8.25% North City
Orient 8.25% Orient
Buckner 8.25% Franklin
Whittington 9.5% Benton
Frankfort Heights 9.25% West Frankfort

Illinois Sales Tax Rates by Zip Code:

Need an updated list of Illinois sales tax rates for your business? Download our Illinois sales tax database!

Franklin County, Illinois has a maximum sales tax rate of 9.5% and an approximate population of 30,512.

Sales tax rates in Franklin County are determined by eight different tax jurisdictions, Benton, Christopher, Franklin, Hanaford, North City, Orient, Sesser and West Frankfort.

  Back to Illinois Sales Tax Handbook Sales tax rates for Franklin County are current as of July 2024
** This Document Provided By SalesTaxHandbook **