Jefferson County Illinois Sales Tax Rate 2022 Illinois Sales Tax Rates: Jefferson County


Jefferson County, Illinois Sales Tax Rate 2022 Up to 9.5%

The Jefferson County Sales Tax is 0.5%

A county-wide sales tax rate of 0.5% is applicable to localities in Jefferson County, in addition to the 6.25% Illinois sales tax.

Some cities and local governments in Jefferson County collect additional local sales taxes, which can be as high as 2.75%.

Here's how Jefferson County's maximum sales tax rate of 9.5% compares to other counties around the United States:

  •   Higher maximum sales tax than 84% of Illinois counties
  •   Higher maximum sales tax than 86% of counties nationwide
Last updated September 2022

Tax Rates By City in Jefferson County, Illinois

The total sales tax rate in any given location can be broken down into state, county, city, and special district rates. Illinois has a 6.25% sales tax and Jefferson County collects an additional 0.5%, so the minimum sales tax rate in Jefferson County is 6.75% (not including any city or special district taxes). This table shows the total sales tax rates for all cities and towns in Jefferson County, including all local taxes.

City Sales Tax Rate Tax Jurisdiction
Mount Vernon 9.5% Mount Vernon
Bluford 7% Wayne
Woodlawn 6.75% Jefferson
Dix 7.75% Dix
Bonnie 6.75% Jefferson
Belle Rive 8.25% Franklin
Opdyke 6.75% Jefferson
Waltonville 6.75% Jefferson
Texico 7.5% Marion
Scheller 8.25% Franklin
Ina 6.75% Jefferson
Nason 6.75% Jefferson

Illinois Sales Tax Rates by Zip Code:

Need an updated list of Illinois sales tax rates for your business? Download our Illinois sales tax database!

Jefferson County, Illinois has a maximum sales tax rate of 9.5% and an approximate population of 29,949.

Sales tax rates in Jefferson County are determined by six different tax jurisdictions, Dix, Jefferson, Marion, Wayne, Franklin and Mount Vernon.

  Back to Illinois Sales Tax Handbook Sales tax rates for Jefferson County are current as of September 2022
** This Document Provided By SalesTaxHandbook **