Lake County Illinois Sales Tax Rate 2022 Illinois Sales Tax Rates: Lake County


Lake County, Illinois Sales Tax Rate 2022 Up to 8.75%

Lake County Has No County-Level Sales Tax

While many counties do levy a countywide sales tax, Lake County does not. The Illinois sales tax of 6.25% applies countywide. Some cities and local governments in Lake County collect additional local sales taxes, which can be as high as 2.5%.

Here's how Lake County's maximum sales tax rate of 8.75% compares to other counties around the United States:

  •   Higher maximum sales tax than 82% of Illinois counties
  •   Higher maximum sales tax than 83% of counties nationwide
Last updated January 2022

Tax Rates By City in Lake County, Illinois

The total sales tax rate in any given location can be broken down into state, county, city, and special district rates. Illinois has a 6.25% sales tax and Lake County collects an additional N/A, so the minimum sales tax rate in Lake County is 6.25% (not including any city or special district taxes). This table shows the total sales tax rates for all cities and towns in Lake County, including all local taxes.

City Sales Tax Rate Tax Jurisdiction
Waukegan 8.5% Waukegan
Round Lake 7.5% Round Lake Beach
Buffalo Grove 8% Buffalo Grove (Lake Co)
Lake Zurich 7.5% Lake Zurich
Gurnee 8.5% Waukegan
Mundelein 8% Mundelein
Grayslake 7% Grayslake
Lake Villa 7% Lake County
Highland Park 8% Highland Park
Libertyville 8% Libertyville
Deerfield 8% Deerfield (Lake Co)
Zion 7% Zion
Vernon Hills 7.25% Vernon Hills
Antioch 7% Lake County
Lake Forest 8% Lake Forest
Wauconda 7% Wauconda
North Chicago 7% North Chicago
Lake Bluff 8% Lake Bluff
Ingleside 7% Lake County
Wadsworth 8% Wadsworth
Fox Lake 7% Fox Lake (Lake Co)
Lincolnshire 8% Lincolnshire
Winthrop Harbor 7% Winthrop Harbor
Highwood 8.75% Highwood
Great Lakes 7% North Chicago
Russell 7% Lake County
Fort Sheridan 8.75% Highwood

Illinois Sales Tax Rates by Zip Code:

Need an updated list of Illinois sales tax rates for your business? Download our Illinois sales tax database!

Lake County, Illinois has a maximum sales tax rate of 8.75% and an approximate population of 583,986.

Sales tax rates in Lake County are determined by 21 different tax jurisdictions, Zion, Waukegan, Lake County, Fox Lake (Lake Co), Highwood, Wauconda, Deerfield (Lake Co), Grayslake, Mundelein, Wadsworth, Lake Bluff, Round Lake Beach, North Chicago, Lake Forest, Lake Zurich, Libertyville, Lincolnshire, Vernon Hills, Buffalo Grove (Lake Co), Highland Park and Winthrop Harbor.

  Back to Illinois Sales Tax Handbook Sales tax rates for Lake County are current as of January 2022
** This Document Provided By SalesTaxHandbook **