Mercer County Illinois Sales Tax Rate 2020 Illinois Sales Tax Rates: Mercer County


Mercer County, Illinois Sales Tax Rate 2020 Up to 7.25%

The Mercer County Sales Tax is 1%

A county-wide sales tax rate of 1% is applicable to localities in Mercer County, in addition to the 6.25% Illinois sales tax.

None of the cities or local governments within Mercer County collect additional local sales taxes.

Here's how Mercer County's maximum sales tax rate of 7.25% compares to other counties around the United States:

  •   Lower maximum sales tax than 70% of Illinois counties
  •   Higher maximum sales tax than 57% of counties nationwide
Last updated August 2020

Tax Rates By City in Mercer County, Illinois

The total sales tax rate in any given location can be broken down into state, county, city, and special district rates. Illinois has a 6.25% sales tax and Mercer County collects an additional 1%, so the minimum sales tax rate in Mercer County is 7.25% (not including any city or special district taxes). This table shows the total sales tax rates for all cities and towns in Mercer County, including all local taxes.

City Sales Tax Rate Tax Jurisdiction
Aledo 7.25% Aledo
Sherrard 7.25% Mercer County
Viola 7.25% Viola
New Boston 7.25% Mercer County
New Windsor 7.25% Windsor (Mercer Co)
Reynolds 7.25% Rock Island County
Joy 7.25% Joy
Keithsburg 7.25% Keithsburg
Matherville 7.25% Matherville
Seaton 7.25% Seaton
Preemption 7.25% Mercer County
North Henderson 7.25% Mercer County

Illinois Sales Tax Rates by Zip Code:

Need an updated list of Illinois sales tax rates for your business? Download our Illinois sales tax database!

Mercer County, Illinois has a maximum sales tax rate of 7.25% and an approximate population of 13,564.

Sales tax rates in Mercer County are determined by nine different tax jurisdictions, Joy, Aledo, Viola, Seaton, Rock Island County, Mercer County, Keithsburg, Matherville and Windsor (Mercer Co).

  Back to Illinois Sales Tax Handbook Sales tax rates for Mercer County are current as of August 2020
** This Document Provided By SalesTaxHandbook **