Monroe County Illinois Sales Tax Rate 2024 Illinois Sales Tax Rates: Monroe County


Monroe County, Illinois Sales Tax Rate 2024 Up to 8.5%

The Monroe County Sales Tax is 1.25%

A county-wide sales tax rate of 1.25% is applicable to localities in Monroe County, in addition to the 6.25% Illinois sales tax.

Some cities and local governments in Monroe County collect additional local sales taxes, which can be as high as 1%.

Here's how Monroe County's maximum sales tax rate of 8.5% compares to other counties around the United States:

  •   Higher maximum sales tax than 53% of Illinois counties
  •   Higher maximum sales tax than 76% of counties nationwide
Last updated June 2024

Tax Rates By City in Monroe County, Illinois

The total sales tax rate in any given location can be broken down into state, county, city, and special district rates. Illinois has a 6.25% sales tax and Monroe County collects an additional 1.25%, so the minimum sales tax rate in Monroe County is 7.5% (not including any city or special district taxes). This table shows the total sales tax rates for all cities and towns in Monroe County, including all local taxes.

City Sales Tax Rate Tax Jurisdiction
Waterloo 8.5% Waterloo
Columbia 8.5% Columbia Main Street Abbey Bd Sp
Valmeyer 7.5% Monroe
Fults 7.5% Monroe
Hecker 7.5% Monroe
Renault 7.5% Monroe
Maeystown 7.5% Maeystown

Illinois Sales Tax Rates by Zip Code:

Need an updated list of Illinois sales tax rates for your business? Download our Illinois sales tax database!

Monroe County, Illinois has a maximum sales tax rate of 8.5% and an approximate population of 28,649.

Sales tax rates in Monroe County are determined by four different tax jurisdictions, Columbia Main Street Abbey Bd Sp, Maeystown, Monroe and Waterloo.

  Back to Illinois Sales Tax Handbook Sales tax rates for Monroe County are current as of June 2024
** This Document Provided By SalesTaxHandbook **