Wayne County Illinois Sales Tax Rate 2024 Illinois Sales Tax Rates: Wayne County


Wayne County, Illinois Sales Tax Rate 2024 Up to 8.25%

The Wayne County Sales Tax is 0.75%

A county-wide sales tax rate of 0.75% is applicable to localities in Wayne County, in addition to the 6.25% Illinois sales tax.

Some cities and local governments in Wayne County collect additional local sales taxes, which can be as high as 1.25%.

Here's how Wayne County's maximum sales tax rate of 8.25% compares to other counties around the United States:

  •   Lower maximum sales tax than 52% of Illinois counties
  •   Higher maximum sales tax than 73% of counties nationwide
Last updated July 2024

Tax Rates By City in Wayne County, Illinois

The total sales tax rate in any given location can be broken down into state, county, city, and special district rates. Illinois has a 6.25% sales tax and Wayne County collects an additional 0.75%, so the minimum sales tax rate in Wayne County is 7% (not including any city or special district taxes). This table shows the total sales tax rates for all cities and towns in Wayne County, including all local taxes.

City Sales Tax Rate Tax Jurisdiction
Fairfield 8% Fairfield
Wayne City 8.25% Hamilton
Cisne 7% Wayne
Geff 7% Wayne
Sims 7% Wayne
Ellery 7.25% Edwards
Keenes 7.5% Marion
Rinard 7% Wayne
Barnhill 7% Wayne
Mount Erie 7% Wayne
Golden Gate 7% Wayne
Johnsonville 7% Wayne

Illinois Sales Tax Rates by Zip Code:

Need an updated list of Illinois sales tax rates for your business? Download our Illinois sales tax database!

Wayne County, Illinois has a maximum sales tax rate of 8.25% and an approximate population of 11,256.

Sales tax rates in Wayne County are determined by five different tax jurisdictions, Edwards, Fairfield, Hamilton, Marion and Wayne.

  Back to Illinois Sales Tax Handbook Sales tax rates for Wayne County are current as of July 2024
** This Document Provided By SalesTaxHandbook **
Source: http://www.salestaxhandbook.com/illinois/rates/wayne-county