Carter County Kentucky Sales Tax Rate 2019 Kentucky Sales Tax Rates: Carter County


Carter County, Kentucky Sales Tax Rate 2019 Up to 6.00%

Carter County Has No County-Level Sales Tax

While many counties do levy a countywide sales tax, Carter County does not. The Kentucky sales tax of 6.00% applies countywide. None of the cities or local governments within Carter County collect additional local sales taxes.

Here's how Carter County's maximum sales tax rate of 6.00% compares to other counties around the United States:

  •   Higher maximum sales tax than any other Kentucky counties
  •   Lower maximum sales tax than 74% of counties nationwide
Last updated December 2019

Tax Rates By City in Carter County, Kentucky

The total sales tax rate in any given location can be broken down into state, county, city, and special district rates. Kentucky has a 6.00% sales tax and Carter County collects an additional N/A, so the minimum sales tax rate in Carter County is 6% (not including any city or special district taxes). This table shows the total sales tax rates for all cities and towns in Carter County, including all local taxes.

City Sales Tax Rate Tax Jurisdiction
Grayson 6.00% Carter
Olive Hill 6.00% Carter
Hitchins 6.00% Carter
Grahn 6.00% Lawrence
Denton 6.00% Carter
Soldier 6.00% Carter
Willard 6.00% Lawrence

Kentucky Sales Tax Rates by Zip Code:

Need an updated list of Kentucky sales tax rates for your business? Download our Kentucky sales tax database!

Carter County, Kentucky has a maximum sales tax rate of 6.00% and an approximate population of 20,225.

Sales tax rates in Carter County are determined by two different tax jurisdictions, Lawrence and Carter.

  Back to Kentucky Sales Tax Handbook Sales tax rates for Carter County are current as of December 2019
** This Document Provided By SalesTaxHandbook **