Franklin County Massachusetts Sales Tax Rate 2023 Massachusetts Sales Tax Rates: Franklin County


Franklin County, Massachusetts Sales Tax Rate 2023 Up to 6.25%

Franklin County Has No County-Level Sales Tax

While many counties do levy a countywide sales tax, Franklin County does not. The Massachusetts sales tax of 6.25% applies countywide. None of the cities or local governments within Franklin County collect additional local sales taxes.

Here's how Franklin County's maximum sales tax rate of 6.25% compares to other counties around the United States:

  •   Higher maximum sales tax than any other Massachusetts counties
  •   Lower maximum sales tax than 75% of counties nationwide
Last updated September 2023

Tax Rates By City in Franklin County, Massachusetts

The total sales tax rate in any given location can be broken down into state, county, city, and special district rates. Massachusetts has a 6.25% sales tax and Franklin County collects an additional N/A, so the minimum sales tax rate in Franklin County is 6.25% (not including any city or special district taxes). This table shows the total sales tax rates for all cities and towns in Franklin County, including all local taxes.

City Sales Tax Rate Tax Jurisdiction
Greenfield 6.25% Leyden
Orange 6.25% Athol
South Deerfield 6.25% Deerfield
Turners Falls 6.25% Montague
Shelburne Falls 6.25% Ashfield
Sunderland 6.25% Leverett
Northfield 6.25% Erving
Bernardston 6.25% Leyden
Montague 6.25% Leverett
Leverett 6.25% Leverett
Colrain 6.25% Colrain
Conway 6.25% Conway
Ashfield 6.25% Ashfield
Gill 6.25% Northfield
Shutesbury 6.25% New Salem
Charlemont 6.25% Ashfield
Erving 6.25% Erving
Deerfield 6.25% Deerfield
New Salem 6.25% New Salem
Millers Falls 6.25% Montague
Wendell 6.25% Montague
Warwick 6.25% Warwick
Whately 6.25% Whately
Rowe 6.25% Heath
Greenfield 6.25% Greenfield
Heath 6.25% Heath
Buckland 6.25% Buckland
Lake Pleasant 6.25% Montague
Monroe Bridge 6.25% Monroe
Wendell Depot 6.25% Wendell
North Hatfield 6.25% Hatfield

Massachusetts Sales Tax Rates by Zip Code:

Need an updated list of Massachusetts sales tax rates for your business? Download our Massachusetts sales tax database!

Franklin County, Massachusetts has a maximum sales tax rate of 6.25% and an approximate population of 57,200.

Sales tax rates in Franklin County are determined by nineteen different tax jurisdictions, Ashfield, Athol, Buckland, Colrain, Conway, Deerfield, Erving, Greenfield, Hatfield, Heath, Leverett, Leyden, Monroe, Montague, New Salem, Northfield, Warwick, Wendell and Whately.

  Back to Massachusetts Sales Tax Handbook Sales tax rates for Franklin County are current as of September 2023
** This Document Provided By SalesTaxHandbook **