Union County New Jersey Sales Tax Rate 2020 New Jersey Sales Tax Rates: Union County

New Jersey:

Union County, New Jersey Sales Tax Rate 2020 Up to 6.625%

Union County Has No County-Level Sales Tax

While many counties do levy a countywide sales tax, Union County does not. The New Jersey sales tax of 6.625% applies countywide. None of the cities or local governments within Union County collect additional local sales taxes.

Here's how Union County's maximum sales tax rate of 6.625% compares to other counties around the United States:

  •   Higher maximum sales tax than any other New Jersey counties
  •   Lower maximum sales tax than 69% of counties nationwide
Last updated July 2020

Tax Rates By City in Union County, New Jersey

The total sales tax rate in any given location can be broken down into state, county, city, and special district rates. New Jersey has a 6.625% sales tax and Union County collects an additional N/A, so the minimum sales tax rate in Union County is 6.625% (not including any city or special district taxes). This table shows the total sales tax rates for all cities and towns in Union County, including all local taxes.

City Sales Tax Rate Tax Jurisdiction
Elizabeth 6.625% Elizabeth
Plainfield 6.625% Plainfield
Union 6.625% Union Township (Union County)
Linden 6.625% Linden
Westfield 6.625% Westfield
Rahway 6.625% Rahway
Scotch Plains 6.625% Scotch Plains
Cranford 6.625% Cranford City, Nj
Summit 6.625% Summit
Elizabethport 6.625% Elizabeth
Hillside 6.625% Hillside
Roselle 6.625% Roselle
Springfield 6.625% Springfield Township (Union County)
Clark 6.625% Clark City
Roselle Park 6.625% Roselle Park
Berkeley Heights 6.625% Berkeley Heights
New Providence 6.625% New Providence
Kenilworth 6.625% Kenilworth
Fanwood 6.625% Fanwood
Mountainside 6.625% Mountainside Borough
Garwood 6.625% Garwood Borough
Vauxhall 6.625% Union Township (Union County)

New Jersey Sales Tax Rates by Zip Code:

Need an updated list of New Jersey sales tax rates for your business? Download our New Jersey sales tax database!

Union County, New Jersey has a maximum sales tax rate of 6.625% and an approximate population of 463,159.

Sales tax rates in Union County are determined by 21 different tax jurisdictions, Clark City, Union Township (Union County), Linden, Rahway, Summit, Fanwood, Garwood Borough, Roselle, Cranford City, Nj, Hillside, Elizabeth , Westfield , Kenilworth, Plainfield, Springfield Township (Union County), Mountainside Borough, Roselle Park, Scotch Plains, New Providence and Berkeley Heights.

  Back to New Jersey Sales Tax Handbook Sales tax rates for Union County are current as of July 2020
** This Document Provided By SalesTaxHandbook **
Source: http://www.salestaxhandbook.com/new-jersey/rates/union-county