Albany County New York Sales Tax Rate 2020 New York Sales Tax Rates: Albany County

New York:

Albany County, New York Sales Tax Rate 2020 Up to 8%

The Albany County Sales Tax is 4%

A county-wide sales tax rate of 4% is applicable to localities in Albany County, in addition to the 4% New York sales tax.

None of the cities or local governments within Albany County collect additional local sales taxes.

Here's how Albany County's maximum sales tax rate of 8% compares to other counties around the United States:

  •   Higher maximum sales tax than 69% of New York counties
  •   Higher maximum sales tax than 70% of counties nationwide
Last updated October 2020

Tax Rates By City in Albany County, New York

The total sales tax rate in any given location can be broken down into state, county, city, and special district rates. New York has a 4% sales tax and Albany County collects an additional 4%, so the minimum sales tax rate in Albany County is 8% (not including any city or special district taxes). This table shows the total sales tax rates for all cities and towns in Albany County, including all local taxes.

City Sales Tax Rate Tax Jurisdiction
Albany 8% Albany
Albany 8% Colonie
Latham 8% Colonie
Delmar 8% Bethlehem
Cohoes 8% Cohoes
Watervliet 8% Watervliet
Slingerlands 8% Bethlehem
Altamont 8% Guilderland
Voorheesville 8% New Scotland
Albany 8% Menands Village
Glenmont 8% Bethlehem
Selkirk 8% Bethlehem
Ravena 8% Ravena Village
Guilderland 8% Guilderland
Troy 8% Green Island Village
Westerlo 8% Westerlo
Berne 8% Berne
East Berne 8% Berne
Feura Bush 8% New Scotland
Albany 8% Colonie Village
Coeymans Hollow 8% Coeymans
Preston Hollow 8% Rensselaerville
Rensselaerville 8% Rensselaerville
Clarksville 8% New Scotland
Coeymans 8% Coeymans
Medusa 8% Rensselaerville
Guilderland Center 8% Guilderland
Knox 8% Knox
Albany 8% Guilderland
Alcove 8% Coeymans
Newtonville 8% Colonie
Dormansville 8% Westerlo
South Bethlehem 8% Bethlehem

New York Sales Tax Rates by Zip Code:

Need an updated list of New York sales tax rates for your business? Download our New York sales tax database!

Albany County, New York has a maximum sales tax rate of 8% and an approximate population of 221,390.

Sales tax rates in Albany County are determined by sixteen different tax jurisdictions, Knox, Green Island Village, Berne, Albany, Colonie, Guilderland, Colonie Village, Menands Village, Coeymans, Cohoes, Bethlehem, Rensselaerville, Ravena Village, Westerlo, New Scotland and Watervliet.

  Back to New York Sales Tax Handbook Sales tax rates for Albany County are current as of October 2020
** This Document Provided By SalesTaxHandbook **