Erie County New York Sales Tax Rate 2024 New York Sales Tax Rates: Erie County

New York:

Erie County, New York Sales Tax Rate 2024 Up to 8.75%

The Erie County Sales Tax is 4.75%

A county-wide sales tax rate of 4.75% is applicable to localities in Erie County, in addition to the 4% New York sales tax.

None of the cities or local governments within Erie County collect additional local sales taxes.

Here's how Erie County's maximum sales tax rate of 8.75% compares to other counties around the United States:

  •   Higher maximum sales tax than 89% of New York counties
  •   Higher maximum sales tax than 78% of counties nationwide
Last updated July 2024

Tax Rates By City in Erie County, New York

The total sales tax rate in any given location can be broken down into state, county, city, and special district rates. New York has a 4% sales tax and Erie County collects an additional 4.75%, so the minimum sales tax rate in Erie County is 8.75% (not including any city or special district taxes). This table shows the total sales tax rates for all cities and towns in Erie County, including all local taxes.

City Sales Tax Rate Tax Jurisdiction
Buffalo 8.75% West Seneca
Buffalo 8.75% Tonawanda
Buffalo 8.75% Buffalo
Buffalo 8.75% Amherst
Buffalo 8.75% Clarence
Hamburg 8.75% Hamburg Town
Tonawanda 8.75% Tonawanda Village
Lancaster 8.75% Marilla
Buffalo 8.75% Cheektowaga
Orchard Park 8.75% West Seneca
Depew 8.75% West Seneca
Grand Island 8.75% Grand Island
East Amherst 8.75% Clarence
Buffalo 8.75% Kenmore Village
East Aurora 8.75% Marilla
Buffalo 8.75% Hamburg Town
Alden 8.75% Marilla
Clarence 8.75% Clarence
Angola 8.75% Brant
Elma 8.75% Marilla
Akron 8.75% Clarence
Eden 8.75% Concord
Clarence Center 8.75% Clarence
Lake View 8.75% Hamburg Town
Springville 8.75% Collins
Getzville 8.75% Amherst
Derby 8.75% Eden
Holland 8.75% Colden
North Collins 8.75% Collins
Boston 8.75% Colden
West Falls 8.75% Colden
Irving 8.75% Collins
South Wales 8.75% Colden
Colden 8.75% Colden
Collins 8.75% Collins
Chaffee 8.75% Sardinia
East Concord 8.75% Concord
Marilla 8.75% Marilla
Lawtons 8.75% Collins
Glenwood 8.75% Colden
Bowmansville 8.75% Lancaster Town
Brant 8.75% Brant
Farnham 8.75% Farnham Village
Sardinia 8.75% Sardinia
Crittenden 8.75% Alden
North Evans 8.75% Evans
North Boston 8.75% Boston
Spring Brook 8.75% Elma
Wales Center 8.75% Wales
Athol Springs 8.75% Hamburg Town
Collins Center 8.75% Collins

New York Sales Tax Rates by Zip Code:

Need an updated list of New York sales tax rates for your business? Download our New York sales tax database!

Erie County, New York has a maximum sales tax rate of 8.75% and an approximate population of 725,604.

Sales tax rates in Erie County are determined by 24 different tax jurisdictions, Alden, Amherst, Boston, Brant, Buffalo, Cheektowaga, Clarence, Colden, Collins, Concord, Eden, Elma, Evans, Farnham Village, Grand Island, Hamburg Town, Kenmore Village, Lancaster Town, Marilla, Sardinia, Tonawanda, Tonawanda Village, Wales and West Seneca.

  Back to New York Sales Tax Handbook Sales tax rates for Erie County are current as of July 2024
** This Document Provided By SalesTaxHandbook **