Essex County New York Sales Tax Rate 2023 New York Sales Tax Rates: Essex County

New York:

Essex County, New York Sales Tax Rate 2023 Up to 8%

The Essex County Sales Tax is 4%

A county-wide sales tax rate of 4% is applicable to localities in Essex County, in addition to the 4% New York sales tax.

None of the cities or local governments within Essex County collect additional local sales taxes.

Here's how Essex County's maximum sales tax rate of 8% compares to other counties around the United States:

  •   Lower maximum sales tax than 52% of New York counties
  •   Higher maximum sales tax than 64% of counties nationwide
Last updated September 2023

Tax Rates By City in Essex County, New York

The total sales tax rate in any given location can be broken down into state, county, city, and special district rates. New York has a 4% sales tax and Essex County collects an additional 4%, so the minimum sales tax rate in Essex County is 8% (not including any city or special district taxes). This table shows the total sales tax rates for all cities and towns in Essex County, including all local taxes.

City Sales Tax Rate Tax Jurisdiction
Lake Placid 8% North Elba
Ticonderoga 8% Ticonderoga
Willsboro 8% Essex
Crown Point 8% Ticonderoga
Schroon Lake 8% North Hudson
Westport 8% Westport
Port Henry 8% Moriah
Elizabethtown 8% Lewis Essex County
Jay 8% Wilmington
Wilmington 8% Wilmington
Bloomingdale 8% Franklin Franklin County
Mineville 8% Moriah
Moriah 8% Moriah
Lewis 8% Chesterfield
Essex 8% Westport
Keene 8% Keene
Olmstedville 8% Minerva
Minerva 8% Minerva
Newcomb 8% Minerva
Newcomb 8% Newcomb
Paradox 8% Schroon
Port Kent 8% Chesterfield
Ray Brook 8% North Elba
Severance 8% Schroon
Upper Jay 8% Wilmington
Witherbee 8% Moriah
New Russia 8% North Hudson
Keene Valley 8% Keene
North Hudson 8% North Hudson
Moriah Center 8% Moriah

New York Sales Tax Rates by Zip Code:

Need an updated list of New York sales tax rates for your business? Download our New York sales tax database!

Essex County, New York has a maximum sales tax rate of 8% and an approximate population of 24,139.

Sales tax rates in Essex County are determined by fourteen different tax jurisdictions, Chesterfield, Essex, Franklin Franklin County, Keene, Lewis Essex County, Minerva, Moriah, Newcomb, North Elba, North Hudson, Schroon, Ticonderoga, Westport and Wilmington.

  Back to New York Sales Tax Handbook Sales tax rates for Essex County are current as of September 2023
** This Document Provided By SalesTaxHandbook **