Jefferson County New York Sales Tax Rate 2023 New York Sales Tax Rates: Jefferson County

New York:

Jefferson County, New York Sales Tax Rate 2023 Up to 8%

The Jefferson County Sales Tax is 4%

A county-wide sales tax rate of 4% is applicable to localities in Jefferson County, in addition to the 4% New York sales tax.

None of the cities or local governments within Jefferson County collect additional local sales taxes.

Here's how Jefferson County's maximum sales tax rate of 8% compares to other counties around the United States:

  •   Lower maximum sales tax than 52% of New York counties
  •   Higher maximum sales tax than 64% of counties nationwide
Last updated September 2023

Tax Rates By City in Jefferson County, New York

The total sales tax rate in any given location can be broken down into state, county, city, and special district rates. New York has a 4% sales tax and Jefferson County collects an additional 4%, so the minimum sales tax rate in Jefferson County is 8% (not including any city or special district taxes). This table shows the total sales tax rates for all cities and towns in Jefferson County, including all local taxes.

City Sales Tax Rate Tax Jurisdiction
Watertown 8% Clayton
Carthage 8% Wilna
Watertown 8% Le Ray
Clayton 8% Clayton
Adams 8% Rodman
Dexter 8% Hounsfield
Evans Mills 8% Le Ray
Fort Drum 8% Wilna
Theresa 8% Philadelphia
Black River 8% Rutland
Adams Center 8% Watertown
La Fargeville 8% Clayton
Sackets Harbor 8% Henderson
Philadelphia 8% Philadelphia
Chaumont 8% Clayton
Alexandria Bay 8% Alexandria
Cape Vincent 8% Cape Vincent
Redwood 8% Theresa
Calcium 8% Le Ray
Antwerp 8% Antwerp
Mannsville 8% Sandy Creek
Brownville 8% Brownville
Henderson 8% Henderson
Rodman 8% Pinckney
Three Mile Bay 8% Cape Vincent
Oxbow 8% Antwerp
Plessis 8% Alexandria
Deferiet 8% Deferiet Village
Limerick 8% Brownville
Lorraine 8% Worth
Ellisburg 8% Ellisburg
Belleville 8% Ellisburg
Depauville 8% Clayton
Great Bend 8% Champion
Felts Mills 8% Rutland
Fishers Landing 8% Orleans
Henderson Harbor 8% Henderson
Pierrepont Manor 8% Ellisburg
Wellesley Island 8% Alexandria
Thousand Island Park 8% Orleans

New York Sales Tax Rates by Zip Code:

Need an updated list of New York sales tax rates for your business? Download our New York sales tax database!

Jefferson County, New York has a maximum sales tax rate of 8% and an approximate population of 87,874.

Sales tax rates in Jefferson County are determined by 21 different tax jurisdictions, Alexandria, Antwerp, Brownville, Cape Vincent, Champion, Clayton, Deferiet Village, Ellisburg, Henderson, Hounsfield, Le Ray, Orleans, Philadelphia, Pinckney, Rodman, Rutland, Sandy Creek, Theresa, Watertown, Wilna and Worth.

  Back to New York Sales Tax Handbook Sales tax rates for Jefferson County are current as of September 2023
** This Document Provided By SalesTaxHandbook **