Orange County New York Sales Tax Rate 2023 New York Sales Tax Rates: Orange County

New York:

Orange County, New York Sales Tax Rate 2023 Up to 8.375%

The Orange County Sales Tax is 3.75%

A county-wide sales tax rate of 3.75% is applicable to localities in Orange County, in addition to the 4% New York sales tax.

Some cities and local governments in Orange County collect additional local sales taxes, which can be as high as 0.625%.

Here's how Orange County's maximum sales tax rate of 8.375% compares to other counties around the United States:

  •   Higher maximum sales tax than 66% of New York counties
  •   Higher maximum sales tax than 74% of counties nationwide
Last updated March 2023

Tax Rates By City in Orange County, New York

The total sales tax rate in any given location can be broken down into state, county, city, and special district rates. New York has a 4% sales tax and Orange County collects an additional 3.75%, so the minimum sales tax rate in Orange County is 7.75% (not including any city or special district taxes). This table shows the total sales tax rates for all cities and towns in Orange County, including all local taxes.

City Sales Tax Rate Tax Jurisdiction
Newburgh 8.125% Newburgh City
Middletown 8.125% Greenville Orange County
Monroe 8.125% Chester Town Orange County
New Windsor 8.125% Newburgh City
Warwick 8.125% Chester Town Orange County
Middletown 8.125% Wallkill
Port Jervis 8.125% Greenville Orange County
Walden 8.125% Montgomery
Goshen 8.125% Wallkill
Chester 8.125% Chester Town Orange County
Montgomery 8.125% Wallkill
Washingtonville 8.125% Hamptonburgh
Highland Mills 8.125% Cornwall
Cornwall 8.125% Cornwall
West Point 8.125% Highlands
Greenwood Lake 8.125% Warwick
Campbell Hall 8.125% Montgomery
Florida 8.125% Chester Town Orange County
Highland Falls 8.125% Highlands
Harriman 8.125% Monroe
Tuxedo Park 8.375% Ramapo
New Hampton 8.125% Wallkill
Cornwall On Hudson 8.125% Cornwall
Westtown 8.125% Greenville Orange County
Maybrook 8.125% Hamptonburgh
Otisville 8.125% Wallkill
Slate Hill 8.125% Orange
Rock Tavern 8.125% Newburgh Town
Sparrow Bush 8.125% Deerpark
Salisbury Mills 8.125% Cornwall
Central Valley 8.125% Woodbury Village
Cuddebackville 8.125% Mount Hope
Fort Montgomery 8.125% Highlands
Pine Island 8.125% Warwick
Huguenot 8.125% Deerpark
Circleville 8.125% Wallkill
Sugar Loaf 8.125% Chester Town Orange County
Blooming Grove 8.125% Blooming Grove
Unionville 8.125% Minisink
Monroe 8.125% Monroe Village
Johnson 8.125% Minisink
Vails Gate 8.125% New Windsor
Arden 8.125% Tuxedo
Howells 8.125% Wallkill
Bellvale 8.125% Warwick
Newburgh 8.125% Newburgh Town
Bullville 8.125% Crawford
New Milford 8.125% Warwick
Southfields 8.125% Tuxedo
Mountainville 8.125% Cornwall
Thompson Ridge 8.125% Crawford
Sterling Forest 8.125% Warwick

New York Sales Tax Rates by Zip Code:

Need an updated list of New York sales tax rates for your business? Download our New York sales tax database!

Orange County, New York has a maximum sales tax rate of 8.375% and an approximate population of 289,141.

Sales tax rates in Orange County are determined by 22 different tax jurisdictions, Tuxedo, Wallkill, Monroe Village, Chester Town Orange County, Montgomery, Minisink, Warwick, Cornwall, Monroe, Deerpark, Hamptonburgh, Newburgh City, Newburgh Town, Greenville Orange County, Crawford, Orange, New Windsor, Highlands, Ramapo, Blooming Grove, Woodbury Village and Mount Hope.

  Back to New York Sales Tax Handbook Sales tax rates for Orange County are current as of March 2023
** This Document Provided By SalesTaxHandbook **