Rensselaer County New York Sales Tax Rate 2021 New York Sales Tax Rates: Rensselaer County

New York:

Rensselaer County, New York Sales Tax Rate 2021 Up to 8%

The Rensselaer County Sales Tax is 4%

A county-wide sales tax rate of 4% is applicable to localities in Rensselaer County, in addition to the 4% New York sales tax.

None of the cities or local governments within Rensselaer County collect additional local sales taxes.

Here's how Rensselaer County's maximum sales tax rate of 8% compares to other counties around the United States:

  •   Higher maximum sales tax than 69% of New York counties
  •   Higher maximum sales tax than 69% of counties nationwide
Last updated October 2021

Tax Rates By City in Rensselaer County, New York

The total sales tax rate in any given location can be broken down into state, county, city, and special district rates. New York has a 4% sales tax and Rensselaer County collects an additional 4%, so the minimum sales tax rate in Rensselaer County is 8% (not including any city or special district taxes). This table shows the total sales tax rates for all cities and towns in Rensselaer County, including all local taxes.

City Sales Tax Rate Tax Jurisdiction
Troy 8% Troy
Rensselaer 8% Rensselaer
East Greenbush 8% East Greenbush
Wynantskill 8% North Greenbush
Castleton On Hudson 8% Schodack
Averill Park 8% Sand Lake
Hoosick Falls 8% Hoosick
Nassau 8% Schodack
West Sand Lake 8% Sand Lake
Schaghticoke 8% Schaghticoke
Petersburg 8% Petersburgh
Johnsonville 8% Pittstown
Melrose 8% Schaghticoke
Valley Falls 8% Pittstown
Stephentown 8% Stephentown
Poestenkill 8% Poestenkill
East Nassau 8% Nassau
Cropseyville 8% Grafton
Buskirk 7% Cambridge
Sand Lake 8% Sand Lake
Berlin 8% Berlin
Schodack Landing 8% Schodack
East Schodack 8% Schodack
Grafton 8% Grafton
Hoosick 8% Hoosick
Cherry Plain 8% Berlin
North Hoosick 8% Hoosick

New York Sales Tax Rates by Zip Code:

Need an updated list of New York sales tax rates for your business? Download our New York sales tax database!

Rensselaer County, New York has a maximum sales tax rate of 8% and an approximate population of 126,193.

Sales tax rates in Rensselaer County are determined by sixteen different tax jurisdictions, Troy, Berlin, Schodack, Cambridge, Grafton, Hoosick, Schaghticoke, Sand Lake, Petersburgh, Rensselaer, Nassau, Poestenkill, Stephentown, North Greenbush, Pittstown and East Greenbush.

  Back to New York Sales Tax Handbook Sales tax rates for Rensselaer County are current as of October 2021
** This Document Provided By SalesTaxHandbook **