Tompkins County New York Sales Tax Rate 2023 New York Sales Tax Rates: Tompkins County

New York:

Tompkins County, New York Sales Tax Rate 2023 Up to 8%

The Tompkins County Sales Tax is 4%

A county-wide sales tax rate of 4% is applicable to localities in Tompkins County, in addition to the 4% New York sales tax.

None of the cities or local governments within Tompkins County collect additional local sales taxes.

Here's how Tompkins County's maximum sales tax rate of 8% compares to other counties around the United States:

  •   Lower maximum sales tax than 52% of New York counties
  •   Higher maximum sales tax than 64% of counties nationwide
Last updated September 2023

Tax Rates By City in Tompkins County, New York

The total sales tax rate in any given location can be broken down into state, county, city, and special district rates. New York has a 4% sales tax and Tompkins County collects an additional 4%, so the minimum sales tax rate in Tompkins County is 8% (not including any city or special district taxes). This table shows the total sales tax rates for all cities and towns in Tompkins County, including all local taxes.

City Sales Tax Rate Tax Jurisdiction
Ithaca 8% Ulysses
Trumansburg 8% Ulysses
Groton 8% Summerhill
Newfield 8% Van Etten
Freeville 8% Groton
Dryden 8% Virgil
Lansing 8% Genoa
Brooktondale 8% Danby
Ithaca 8% Ithaca
Ithaca 8% Dryden
Etna 8% Dryden
Ithaca 8% Lansing Village
Mc Lean 8% Groton
Jacksonville 8% Ulysses
Slaterville Springs 8% Caroline

New York Sales Tax Rates by Zip Code:

Need an updated list of New York sales tax rates for your business? Download our New York sales tax database!

Tompkins County, New York has a maximum sales tax rate of 8% and an approximate population of 67,094.

Sales tax rates in Tompkins County are determined by eleven different tax jurisdictions, Caroline, Danby, Dryden, Genoa, Groton, Ithaca, Lansing Village, Summerhill, Ulysses, Van Etten and Virgil.

  Back to New York Sales Tax Handbook Sales tax rates for Tompkins County are current as of September 2023
** This Document Provided By SalesTaxHandbook **