Carteret County North Carolina Sales Tax Rate 2021 North Carolina Sales Tax Rates: Carteret County

North Carolina:

Carteret County, North Carolina Sales Tax Rate 2021 Up to 7%

The Carteret County Sales Tax is 2%

A county-wide sales tax rate of 2% is applicable to localities in Carteret County, in addition to the 4.75% North Carolina sales tax.

Some cities and local governments in Carteret County collect additional local sales taxes, which can be as high as 0.25%.

Here's how Carteret County's maximum sales tax rate of 7% compares to other counties around the United States:

  •   Lower maximum sales tax than 54% of North Carolina counties
  •   Lower maximum sales tax than 64% of counties nationwide
Last updated October 2021

Tax Rates By City in Carteret County, North Carolina

The total sales tax rate in any given location can be broken down into state, county, city, and special district rates. North Carolina has a 4.75% sales tax and Carteret County collects an additional 2%, so the minimum sales tax rate in Carteret County is 6.75% (not including any city or special district taxes). This table shows the total sales tax rates for all cities and towns in Carteret County, including all local taxes.

City Sales Tax Rate Tax Jurisdiction
Newport 6.75% Carteret County
Morehead City 6.75% Morehead City
Beaufort 6.75% Beaufort
Emerald Isle 6.75% Emerald Isle
Atlantic Beach 6.75% Atlantic Beach
Stella 7% Onslow County
Harkers Island 6.75% Carteret County
Gloucester 6.75% Carteret County
Atlantic 6.75% Atlantic
Smyrna 6.75% Carteret County
Davis 6.75% Carteret County
Stacy 6.75% Carteret County
Sealevel 6.75% Carteret County
Salter Path 6.75% Indian Beach
Cedar Island 6.75% Carteret County
Marshallberg 6.75% Carteret County

North Carolina Sales Tax Rates by Zip Code:

Need an updated list of North Carolina sales tax rates for your business? Download our North Carolina sales tax database!

Carteret County, North Carolina has a maximum sales tax rate of 7% and an approximate population of 48,223.

Sales tax rates in Carteret County are determined by eight different tax jurisdictions, Carteret County, Onslow County, Atlantic, Beaufort, Indian Beach, Emerald Isle, Morehead City and Atlantic Beach.

  Back to North Carolina Sales Tax Handbook Sales tax rates for Carteret County are current as of October 2021
** This Document Provided By SalesTaxHandbook **