Catawba County North Carolina Sales Tax Rate 2021 North Carolina Sales Tax Rates: Catawba County

North Carolina:

Catawba County, North Carolina Sales Tax Rate 2021 Up to 7%

The Catawba County Sales Tax is 2.25%

A county-wide sales tax rate of 2.25% is applicable to localities in Catawba County, in addition to the 4.75% North Carolina sales tax.

Some cities and local governments in Catawba County collect additional local sales taxes, which can be as high as 8.8817841970013E-16%.

Here's how Catawba County's maximum sales tax rate of 7% compares to other counties around the United States:

  •   Lower maximum sales tax than 54% of North Carolina counties
  •   Lower maximum sales tax than 64% of counties nationwide
Last updated October 2021

Tax Rates By City in Catawba County, North Carolina

The total sales tax rate in any given location can be broken down into state, county, city, and special district rates. North Carolina has a 4.75% sales tax and Catawba County collects an additional 2.25%, so the minimum sales tax rate in Catawba County is 7% (not including any city or special district taxes). This table shows the total sales tax rates for all cities and towns in Catawba County, including all local taxes.

City Sales Tax Rate Tax Jurisdiction
Hickory 7% Hickory
Newton 7% Newton
Conover 7% Conover
Maiden 7% Maiden
Claremont 7% Catawba County
Sherrills Ford 7% Catawba County
Catawba 7% Catawba County
Terrell 7% Catawba County

North Carolina Sales Tax Rates by Zip Code:

Need an updated list of North Carolina sales tax rates for your business? Download our North Carolina sales tax database!

Catawba County, North Carolina has a maximum sales tax rate of 7% and an approximate population of 134,722.

Sales tax rates in Catawba County are determined by five different tax jurisdictions, Maiden, Newton, Catawba County, Conover and Hickory.

  Back to North Carolina Sales Tax Handbook Sales tax rates for Catawba County are current as of October 2021
** This Document Provided By SalesTaxHandbook **