Cherokee County North Carolina Sales Tax Rate 2020 North Carolina Sales Tax Rates: Cherokee County

North Carolina:

Cherokee County, North Carolina Sales Tax Rate 2020 Up to 7%

The Cherokee County Sales Tax is 2.25%

A county-wide sales tax rate of 2.25% is applicable to localities in Cherokee County, in addition to the 4.75% North Carolina sales tax.

Some cities and local governments in Cherokee County collect additional local sales taxes, which can be as high as 8.8817841970013E-16%.

Here's how Cherokee County's maximum sales tax rate of 7% compares to other counties around the United States:

  •   Lower maximum sales tax than 54% of North Carolina counties
  •   Lower maximum sales tax than 64% of counties nationwide
Last updated October 2020

Tax Rates By City in Cherokee County, North Carolina

The total sales tax rate in any given location can be broken down into state, county, city, and special district rates. North Carolina has a 4.75% sales tax and Cherokee County collects an additional 2.25%, so the minimum sales tax rate in Cherokee County is 7% (not including any city or special district taxes). This table shows the total sales tax rates for all cities and towns in Cherokee County, including all local taxes.

City Sales Tax Rate Tax Jurisdiction
Murphy 7% Cherokee County
Andrews 7% Cherokee County
Marble 7% Cherokee County
Brasstown 7% Clay County
Culberson 7% Cherokee County

North Carolina Sales Tax Rates by Zip Code:

Need an updated list of North Carolina sales tax rates for your business? Download our North Carolina sales tax database!

Cherokee County, North Carolina has a maximum sales tax rate of 7% and an approximate population of 20,428.

Sales tax rates in Cherokee County are determined by two different tax jurisdictions, Cherokee County and Clay County.

  Back to North Carolina Sales Tax Handbook Sales tax rates for Cherokee County are current as of October 2020
** This Document Provided By SalesTaxHandbook **