Mcdowell County North Carolina Sales Tax Rate 2023 North Carolina Sales Tax Rates: Mcdowell County

North Carolina:

Mcdowell County, North Carolina Sales Tax Rate 2023 Up to 7%

The Mcdowell County Sales Tax is 2.25%

A county-wide sales tax rate of 2.25% is applicable to localities in Mcdowell County, in addition to the 4.75% North Carolina sales tax.

None of the cities or local governments within Mcdowell County collect additional local sales taxes.

Here's how Mcdowell County's maximum sales tax rate of 7% compares to other counties around the United States:

  •   Higher maximum sales tax than 86% of North Carolina counties
  •   Lower maximum sales tax than 55% of counties nationwide
Last updated September 2023

Tax Rates By City in Mcdowell County, North Carolina

The total sales tax rate in any given location can be broken down into state, county, city, and special district rates. North Carolina has a 4.75% sales tax and Mcdowell County collects an additional 2.25%, so the minimum sales tax rate in Mcdowell County is 7% (not including any city or special district taxes). This table shows the total sales tax rates for all cities and towns in Mcdowell County, including all local taxes.

City Sales Tax Rate Tax Jurisdiction
Marion 7% Rutherford
Nebo 7% Rutherford
Old Fort 7% Buncombe
Glenwood 6.75% Mcdowell

North Carolina Sales Tax Rates by Zip Code:

Need an updated list of North Carolina sales tax rates for your business? Download our North Carolina sales tax database!

Mcdowell County, North Carolina has a maximum sales tax rate of 7% and an approximate population of 33,710.

Sales tax rates in Mcdowell County are determined by three different tax jurisdictions, Buncombe, Mcdowell and Rutherford.

  Back to North Carolina Sales Tax Handbook Sales tax rates for Mcdowell County are current as of September 2023
** This Document Provided By SalesTaxHandbook **