Surry County North Carolina Sales Tax Rate 2023 North Carolina Sales Tax Rates: Surry County

North Carolina:

Surry County, North Carolina Sales Tax Rate 2023 Up to 7%

The Surry County Sales Tax is 2.25%

A county-wide sales tax rate of 2.25% is applicable to localities in Surry County, in addition to the 4.75% North Carolina sales tax.

None of the cities or local governments within Surry County collect additional local sales taxes.

Here's how Surry County's maximum sales tax rate of 7% compares to other counties around the United States:

  •   Higher maximum sales tax than 86% of North Carolina counties
  •   Lower maximum sales tax than 55% of counties nationwide
Last updated September 2023

Tax Rates By City in Surry County, North Carolina

The total sales tax rate in any given location can be broken down into state, county, city, and special district rates. North Carolina has a 4.75% sales tax and Surry County collects an additional 2.25%, so the minimum sales tax rate in Surry County is 7% (not including any city or special district taxes). This table shows the total sales tax rates for all cities and towns in Surry County, including all local taxes.

City Sales Tax Rate Tax Jurisdiction
Mount Airy 7% Surry
Elkin 7% Surry
Dobson 7% Surry
Pilot Mountain 7% Pilot Mountain
Pinnacle 7% Pilot Mountain
State Road 7% Surry
Lowgap 7% Surry
Ararat 7% Surry
Thurmond 7% Surry
Siloam 7% Surry
Toast 7% Mount Airy
White Plains 7% Mount Airy

North Carolina Sales Tax Rates by Zip Code:

Need an updated list of North Carolina sales tax rates for your business? Download our North Carolina sales tax database!

Surry County, North Carolina has a maximum sales tax rate of 7% and an approximate population of 64,031.

Sales tax rates in Surry County are determined by three different tax jurisdictions, Mount Airy, Pilot Mountain and Surry.

  Back to North Carolina Sales Tax Handbook Sales tax rates for Surry County are current as of September 2023
** This Document Provided By SalesTaxHandbook **