Wake County North Carolina Sales Tax Rate 2024 North Carolina Sales Tax Rates: Wake County

North Carolina:

Wake County, North Carolina Sales Tax Rate 2024 Up to 7.5%

The Wake County Sales Tax is 2%

A county-wide sales tax rate of 2% is applicable to localities in Wake County, in addition to the 4.75% North Carolina sales tax.

Some cities and local governments in Wake County collect additional local sales taxes, which can be as high as 0.75%.

Here's how Wake County's maximum sales tax rate of 7.5% compares to other counties around the United States:

  •   Higher maximum sales tax than any other North Carolina counties
  •   Higher maximum sales tax than 53% of counties nationwide
Last updated May 2024

Tax Rates By City in Wake County, North Carolina

The total sales tax rate in any given location can be broken down into state, county, city, and special district rates. North Carolina has a 4.75% sales tax and Wake County collects an additional 2%, so the minimum sales tax rate in Wake County is 6.75% (not including any city or special district taxes). This table shows the total sales tax rates for all cities and towns in Wake County, including all local taxes.

City Sales Tax Rate Tax Jurisdiction
Raleigh 7.25% Raleigh
Cary 7.25% Apex
Raleigh 7.25% Knightdale
Raleigh 7.25% Wake Forest
Wake Forest 7.5% Durham Co Tr
Raleigh 7.25% Cary
Garner 7.25% Garner
Apex 7.25% Apex
Raleigh 7.25% Fuquay-Varina
Fuquay Varina 7.25% Fuquay-Varina
Holly Springs 7.25% Fuquay-Varina
Knightdale 7.25% Knightdale
Morrisville 7.5% Raleigh
Cary 7.25% Cary
Zebulon 7.25% Zebulon
Wendell 7.25% Rolesville
Apex 7.25% Fuquay-Varina
Willow Spring 7.25% Fuquay-Varina
Rolesville 7.25% Rolesville
New Hill 7.25% Apex
Wake Forest 7.25% Wake Forest
Raleigh 7.25% Garner

North Carolina Sales Tax Rates by Zip Code:

Need an updated list of North Carolina sales tax rates for your business? Download our North Carolina sales tax database!

Wake County, North Carolina has a maximum sales tax rate of 7.5% and an approximate population of 759,583.

Sales tax rates in Wake County are determined by ten different tax jurisdictions, Apex, Cary, Durham Co Tr, Fuquay-Varina, Garner, Knightdale, Raleigh, Rolesville, Wake Forest and Zebulon.

  Back to North Carolina Sales Tax Handbook Sales tax rates for Wake County are current as of May 2024
** This Document Provided By SalesTaxHandbook **
Source: http://www.salestaxhandbook.com/north-carolina/rates/wake-county