Newport County Rhode Island Sales Tax Rate 2021 Rhode Island Sales Tax Rates: Newport County

Rhode Island:

Newport County, Rhode Island Sales Tax Rate 2021 Up to 7%

Newport County Has No County-Level Sales Tax

While many counties do levy a countywide sales tax, Newport County does not. The Rhode Island sales tax of 7% applies countywide. Some cities and local governments in Newport County collect additional local sales taxes, which can be as high as 8.8817841970013E-16%.

Here's how Newport County's maximum sales tax rate of 7% compares to other counties around the United States:

  •   Lower maximum sales tax than 100% of Rhode Island counties
  •   Lower maximum sales tax than 65% of counties nationwide
Last updated January 2021

Tax Rates By City in Newport County, Rhode Island

The total sales tax rate in any given location can be broken down into state, county, city, and special district rates. Rhode Island has a 7% sales tax and Newport County collects an additional N/A, so the minimum sales tax rate in Newport County is 7% (not including any city or special district taxes). This table shows the total sales tax rates for all cities and towns in Newport County, including all local taxes.

City Sales Tax Rate Tax Jurisdiction
Newport 7% Newport
Portsmouth 7% Portsmouth
Tiverton 7% Tiverton
Middletown 7% Middletown
Jamestown 7% Jamestown
Little Compton 7% Little Compton
Adamsville 7% Little Compton
Prudence Island 7% Portsmouth

Rhode Island Sales Tax Rates by Zip Code:

Need an updated list of Rhode Island sales tax rates for your business? Download our Rhode Island sales tax database!

Newport County, Rhode Island has a maximum sales tax rate of 7% and an approximate population of 68,404.

Sales tax rates in Newport County are determined by six different tax jurisdictions, Newport, Tiverton, Jamestown, Little Compton, Middletown and Portsmouth.

  Back to Rhode Island Sales Tax Handbook Sales tax rates for Newport County are current as of January 2021
** This Document Provided By SalesTaxHandbook **