Washington County Rhode Island Sales Tax Rate 2022 Rhode Island Sales Tax Rates: Washington County

Rhode Island:

Washington County, Rhode Island Sales Tax Rate 2022 Up to 7%

Washington County Has No County-Level Sales Tax

While many counties do levy a countywide sales tax, Washington County does not. The Rhode Island sales tax of 7% applies countywide. Some cities and local governments in Washington County collect additional local sales taxes, which can be as high as 8.8817841970013E-16%.

Here's how Washington County's maximum sales tax rate of 7% compares to other counties around the United States:

  •   Lower maximum sales tax than 100% of Rhode Island counties
  •   Lower maximum sales tax than 64% of counties nationwide
Last updated January 2022

Tax Rates By City in Washington County, Rhode Island

The total sales tax rate in any given location can be broken down into state, county, city, and special district rates. Rhode Island has a 7% sales tax and Washington County collects an additional N/A, so the minimum sales tax rate in Washington County is 7% (not including any city or special district taxes). This table shows the total sales tax rates for all cities and towns in Washington County, including all local taxes.

City Sales Tax Rate Tax Jurisdiction
North Kingstown 7% North Kingstown
Westerly 7% Westerly
Wakefield 7% South Kingstown
Narragansett 7% Narragansett
Charlestown 7% Charlestown
Saunderstown 7% North Kingstown
Exeter 7% Exeter
West Kingston 7% South Kingstown
Hope Valley 7% Hopkinton
Ashaway 7% Hopkinton
Bradford 7% Westerly
Kingston 7% South Kingstown
Wyoming 7% Richmond
Carolina 7% Richmond
Block Island 7% New Shoreham
Wood River Junction 7% Richmond
Hopkinton 7% Hopkinton
Kenyon 7% Richmond
Slocum 7% North Kingstown
Shannock 7% Richmond
Rockville 7% Hopkinton
Peace Dale 7% South Kingstown

Rhode Island Sales Tax Rates by Zip Code:

Need an updated list of Rhode Island sales tax rates for your business? Download our Rhode Island sales tax database!

Washington County, Rhode Island has a maximum sales tax rate of 7% and an approximate population of 105,334.

Sales tax rates in Washington County are determined by nine different tax jurisdictions, Exeter, Richmond, North Kingstown, Hopkinton, Westerly, South Kingstown, Charlestown, New Shoreham and Narragansett.

  Back to Rhode Island Sales Tax Handbook Sales tax rates for Washington County are current as of January 2022
** This Document Provided By SalesTaxHandbook **
Source: http://www.salestaxhandbook.com/rhode-island/rates/washington-county