Union County South Carolina Sales Tax Rate 2024 South Carolina Sales Tax Rates: Union County

South Carolina:

Union County, South Carolina Sales Tax Rate 2024 Up to 8%

Union County Has No County-Level Sales Tax

While many counties do levy a countywide sales tax, Union County does not. The South Carolina sales tax of 6% applies countywide. Some cities and local governments in Union County collect additional local sales taxes, which can be as high as 2%.

Here's how Union County's maximum sales tax rate of 8% compares to other counties around the United States:

  •   Higher maximum sales tax than 89% of South Carolina counties
  •   Higher maximum sales tax than 63% of counties nationwide
Last updated June 2024

Tax Rates By City in Union County, South Carolina

The total sales tax rate in any given location can be broken down into state, county, city, and special district rates. South Carolina has a 6% sales tax and Union County collects an additional N/A, so the minimum sales tax rate in Union County is 6% (not including any city or special district taxes). This table shows the total sales tax rates for all cities and towns in Union County, including all local taxes.

City Sales Tax Rate Tax Jurisdiction
Union 7% Union
Jonesville 8% Cherokee Co Sd
Buffalo 7% Union
Carlisle 8% Chester Co Cp
Lockhart 7% Lockhart
Jonesville 7% Union
Cross Anchor 7% Spartanburg Co Capital Projects Tax Sp

South Carolina Sales Tax Rates by Zip Code:

Need an updated list of South Carolina sales tax rates for your business? Download our South Carolina sales tax database!

Union County, South Carolina has a maximum sales tax rate of 8% and an approximate population of 20,639.

Sales tax rates in Union County are determined by five different tax jurisdictions, Cherokee Co Sd, Chester Co Cp, Lockhart, Spartanburg Co Capital Projects Tax Sp and Union.

  Back to South Carolina Sales Tax Handbook Sales tax rates for Union County are current as of June 2024
** This Document Provided By SalesTaxHandbook **
Source: http://www.salestaxhandbook.com/south-carolina/rates/union-county